Hong Kong Style Egg Tarts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
can't believe this got so many good reviews, the instructions are very hard to follow as it doesn't say how many egg to add in which of the egg adding steps, similar with the vanilla but that had less of an impact.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
Just made these for Chinese New Years dinner with my family. This was our first attempt making these and everyone approved - even Grandma! My suggestion would be to roll out the dough. We did just as the recipe and if the dough is too thick it's not as good. And this makes way more than 12 FYI!! I also prefer the filling to be a slight bit sweeter so I'll be adding more evaporated milk next time around. (we are Chinese by the way if that helps solidify my review!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
The egg tarts turned out really good, we had way too much custard though, we had to make more dough for the crust about 3 more times. My friend and I originally wanted to make 24 egg tarts and we changed the servings from 12 to 24 but for some reason we had way too many, we ended up making about 80+ but it's also because we had small egg tarts so just be careful when you're adjusting the servings. For smaller ones you can bake them for about 11 min so they don't burn, overall they turned out great, next time I'll try and make the crust thinner and have more custard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
had premade tarts and they worked out fine. also used half and half cream instead of evaporated milk. dont need to drive 100 km for egg tarts anymore lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ridgeway, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Great. I made close to 40 minitarts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
First, the sugar is way too low. Second, the proportion is for way more than 12, maybe 24 or more. Third, the temperature is a bit high.*I did not use the recipe for the crust, only the filling. Maybe the crust is good..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
thought it was great! although there was wayyyyy to much filling…….does regular milk work too?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
I should have read the reviews before attempting this. There was way too much egg custard left over and the 450 was too high. The crust came out a bit dry and hard. However, the taste is just right. I will retry this again and maybe post an updated review. Next time, I would half the filling recipe and lower the oven temperature.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2013
I made a few modifications to the recipe and my tarts came out nearly perfect! First, I lowered the heat to 400 degrees, which extended the cooking time by 5-10 min. They tarts are ready when the center puffs up. Second, I substituted extra virgin coconut oil for the butter to lower the cholesterol impact. Make sure to use the pure stuff that is in solid state at room temp. Third, after I pressed the dough into the tart pans, I poke a few holes in the bottom with a fork to prevent the crust from puffing up under the egg....which is what happened when I didn't poke holes. While I did find that the recipe yielded more dough than egg mixture, my proportions weren't that far off. I used 2 3/4" egg tart tins (which I finally found on eBay being sold directly by Chinese manufacturers after I had scoured internet retailers and couldn't find them).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
my tarts burnt like marshmallows in a fire. the temp of the oven was way, way, WAY too high.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Egg Drop Soup

This simple egg drop soup tastes like it came from your favorite restaurant.

Bacon and Egg Breakfast Tarts

Pastry shells filled with eggs, bacon, and cheese and baked to bubbly.

How to Fold in Egg Whites

Learn how to gently fold egg whites into melted chocolate and egg yolks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States