Honey's Butter Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
This cake is delicious. I am eating a piece of it now, it's still warm. Only used 1-1/2 cup of the sugar and it is sweet enough for me and my husband. Also didn't use the cinnamon and extra sugar for the inside. Baked it in a 9X13 glass pan for one hour, put some sprinkles on top. Will definitely make this one again. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2008
this was a really nice starter recipe, easy to follow and make. i did every by the steps except for one: i made it a chai bundt cake, with allspice, ground cloves, ground ginger, and a little black pepper mixed with sugar, instead of just cinnamon. it came out very nicely. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spadooky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
Great cake. However, for the topping I will use only about 1/2 cup sugar instead of 1 cup. The cake sank in the middle because there was so much sugar. I will definitely use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
This cake was awesome. I was greatly complimented on this cake and it did not last very long. I would suggest lowering the 1 cup of sugar with the cinnamon to about half a cup. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
This was very good. I was a little concerned as I was sprinkling or rather scooping the sugar mixture in the middle of the cake. It seemed like way too much sugar but it actually worked out and blended with the cake really well. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
Very good recipe. My husband and daughter really enjoyed it with me. I made only one substitution (yogurt because I had no sour cream). I think I added an extra egg by accident but it was yummy. I made it in a 9x13 and when it came out, I poked it with a fork all over and covered it with a butter glaze (powdered sugar, melted butter, vanilla and splash of milk) I will definitely make it again! I think I'll even use this cake recipe for other treats I make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Remus, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
Oh my gosh...this was sooooo good. The best dessert I have ever made. It's also one of those recipes where most people already have everything on hand. Thanks for a great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
Wow!!! This tasted soooo delicious. I added chocolate chips for a little extra something and it was sooo tasty! Tastes great warm with butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashleyp

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Escondido, California, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2008
This cake was DeLish! It is quite rich and buttery and the cinnamon sugar in the middle can end up tasting like a streudal topping whe it's all gooey. The only thing that I didn't do was use all the cinnamon and sugar mixture. For one thing, this batter doesn't "pour". It's a plop and smoosh sort of opperation that made it quite hard to get half in the pan and then the other half on top of the cinnamon sugar. At any rate, I only used about half of the mixture and it turned out great. I can't imagine using all of it. There is no need for any kind of icing or glaze but next time I might make a kind of fruit syrup for topping. Something with a little bite like raspberry or rhubarb would be a great complement to the richness of this cake. I have also thought of using applesauce in place of the sour cream to lower the fat content. I don't know how that will turn out but this recipe made its way inot my "family" cookbook right away!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duessa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2008
YUM! This tastes like a good old homemade cinnamon coffee cake, more pleasing for morning time rather than after dinner dessert. I followed the recipe exactly as written and it turned out perfectly! This one's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States