Honey's Butter Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2003
This cake had really good texture and flavor. I baked mine in a 9x13 inch pan, and instead of layering the cinnamon sugar, I just sprinkled it on top and swirled it around with a knife. It took about 45 minutes to bake, but the center was not set and the top was getting hard becasue of the cinn/sug mixture. I usually would set a peice of foil on top until it's done, but I let it cook a few more minutes and turned the oven off and let it sit there a while. The sides did turn out a little dry but I'm still rating this 4, because had I followed the directions as written, it would have turned out just fine. This is a good cake Diane.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
The fact that the cinnamon-sugar mixture turned hard and crunchy is enough to call this recipe a failure in my opinion. The cake itself is beautiful (until you cut into it), moist and delicious and the cinnamon mixture would undoubtedly have worked better had it been cut in half and then swirled into the batter - but that's not what the recipe directs, unfortunately. The cake could have been salvaged, I suppose, if it was "just" for family, but since the crunchy middle caused the cake to break apart as you cut it, there was no way I would have Hubs bring this to a business meeting tomorrow as was my intent. The cake was tossed, which obviously was very disappointing. This is a case where I wished I would have read the reviews BEFORE I made the recipe. Since the cake is not a success as written, without significant changes, I can only rate it "one star" and caution others before making this cake using the recipe as written. I have to assume that those reviewers who rated this recipe higher and loved it were rating a modified version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
A Would-Be 5-Star Cake (I'll get to the why in a sec.) First, it's been suggested, but make sure you spend a lot of time creaming the *very* soft butter and the sugar. It's par for the course with pound-type cakes, but worth sharing. I left the butter out overnight and creamed by hand for 30 minutes. Absolutely worth it. The crumb was perfect. Moist and buttery - almost fluffy - but still dense as a pound cake should be. Kudos to the recipe for the ingredients' proportions. They're dead-on. Now, onto the dark side. The cake recipe proportions are perfecto, BUT the filling might be overkill. Also, merely dumping it in the middle of the cake batter, and then pouring batter on top ain't always gonna cut it. Some technique is required to keep the sugar from seeping to the sides while baking. When that happens, the sugar caramelizes, sticks to your greased pan and dismembers portions of your otherwise perfect cake when you flip that sucker over to remove the cake. Just sayin'. I suggest going halves on the sugar filling, using a teaspoon to incorporate the stuff only in the very middle of the batter, and then slicing through it with a knife to keep the sugar line in-check and relatively thin. Enjoy, and thanks for the recipe. It's a good one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NIGHTSTARRE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2003
I can't say enough about this cake! It is FANTASTIC! It is easy to make, it tastes incredible, and everyone LOVES it! I just use half the sugar cinnamon mixture for the middle though. EXCELLENT RECIPE! THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2000
This butter cake got a lot of praise from my boyfriend and his son. They just loved it but I think the recipe calls for too much sugar. I cut it down to about 2.5 cups and still think that's too much!! I think the next time, I'll try making it with slightly less than 2 cups...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2003
Mmmmoist and Deeelicious! I cut the 1 cup sugar layer in half and I didn't miss a thing! My husband ate half the cake by himself, and thats a big compliment because he usually restrains himself to a 2 slice maximum. Thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2003
Very tasty. 3 cups is a lot of sugar, but it incorporated better than I expected. The streusel center also came out better than I thought - it looked a little alarming after I was DUMPING all that sugar into the center! Tastes like a snickerdoodle pound cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Superase
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2009
Great Recipe! I had a piece of the cake this morning and it was so good. I made it last night and let it sit the night...really good. When i was making it i ended up running out of all-purpose flour so i had to use self-rising for the rest of the recipe. The cake still turned out great! I did make an icing, melted butter and powdered suger. It was so yummy! The cake would have been yummy with out it but i like sweets. I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2003
Definitely a "honey" of a cake that we made for our little honey's 14th birthday celebration yesterday. It was not overly sweet and very moist which we served with coffee chip ice cream on the side. HAPPY BIRTHDAY MISS TYLER!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2003
I found that this cake was very delicious my bf also enjoyed it might cut back on the sugar though but other than that i will definately make this cake again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States