Honey's Butter Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
I just made the cake 2 hours ago and it's already gone! Do I need to say more?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
I tried this because it was recommended in another review and it wasn't quite what I was hoping for. It is a coffee cake not a pound cake. It had a medium light crumb, was not dry but not exactly moist either, and not dense despite the very thick batter...perfect for a coffee cake! My husband LOVED it as did my toddler. I like really moist dense cake and this was not it but my husband prefers lighter crumbly cakes and this one fit the bill. I think there is a little too much cinnamon sugar mixture so I would cut that in half next time. It was quite tastey though and didn't last long in our house :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michigan Mommy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2006
This cake has a good butter flavor but was a very heavy cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coco

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
This was an excellent coffee cake. I would definitely not put this in the category of a pound cake. My family loved it and we almost finished it in one day. Thanks for an easy and delicious recipe. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2006
Very good. It is a good recipe for a coffee cake. Not what I expected, but it turned out well. The batter seemed very thick so I was a little concerned. However, we all cleared our plates!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
Very Good. I replaced the cinnamon with cocoa powder, it turned out excellent. The cake is a little to sweet for me, definitely will reduce the sugar next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookielovers

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2006
YUMMY! I just wanted to use up the rest of my sour cream and so I came across this recipe and decided to try it out. I didn't realize it was going to be soooo good! So moist and tasty...i keep going back for more. Don't be shy with the sour cream! I cut back on the sugar/cinnamon mixture in the middle and wish I hadn't now! I'll know for next time because I will be making this again for sure and trying it out with all different types of glazes and frostings...although it's perfect on its own too! Thank you so much for sharing this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Coquitlam, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2006
The flavor was really quite good, but my oven was a mess! I'm sure that this was more my fault than the recipe since it doesn't seem that overflows have been a common problem. Also, I wasn't expecting this to be so much like a run-of-the-mill coffeecake...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruby's Mommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Søborg, Hovedstaden, Denmark

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
This recipe is wonderful and very simple. The only changes I made is used 1cup Splenda, 1 cup sugar for the cake. I didn't use all the cinn/sug mixture and I used egg whites. I also spread a buttercream frosting on it (got the redipe from this site also).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
This recipie was great. I made it into a layered cake and then made chocolage icing and covered the entire cake with coconut flakes. It was loved by youth, and adults. I recieve heaps of compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States