Honey's Butter Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 23, 2004
I reduced the sugar to 1 1/2 cups and reduced the sugar/cinnamon mix to 1/2 cup. I used real butter and large eggs. I was not as impressed with this cake as I was expecting to be after reading all the great reviews. It was a very nice cake, but nothing spectacular. I most likely will not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2004
All I can say is yummy! I am glad that I decided to follow the directions and use the full amount of sugar and cinnamon mixture. It looked like a lot but it is the perfect amount for this cake. My family went crazy over this cake...thanks Diane. I did watch the time and it only took 50 minutes for it to be done but ovens vary so make sure you keep an eye on it while it is baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2004
Very good. However, I would use half the sugar- cinnamon filling and add chopped nuts to this mixture next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2004
We like our desserts less sweet, so I followed the other reviews and cut the sugar down by half. I also used only half of the cinnamon/sugar mixture. The cake turned out wonderful--the bottom forms a yummy crust and it was just the right amount of sweetness (it really does taste like snickerdoodle cookies!) Great with coffee! I set my timer at 60 minutes and the cake was a little dry the next day, so next time I'll probably check it at 45 min. This would make yummy cupcakes too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milton Freewater, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2004
This was super easy and delicious. Perfect coffee type cake. I used about 1/2 the sugar cinnamon mixture at the advice of the reviews, and it was just enough. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2004
Great cake! I took this to work for a coworker's birthday and everyone raved about it! It's a good brunch cake. I didn't use the full cup of cinnamon sugar in the middle layer, but other than that, I followed the recipe exactly. It was wonderful! Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MELGAD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2003
This was an amazing cake! I am going to be using it in the Raspberry Trifle from another recipe in this amazing website! Thanks for sharing, maybe a bit less sugar next time but none the less, fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2003
This was my first bundt cake and it turned out beautifully. I took some other reviewers advice and used half the amount of sugar and cinnamon, but at the end wished I had stuck to the original recipe.It finished baking after 55 minutes and I iced it with a simple sugar glaze. It was moist and delicious. *****
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2003
I found that this cake was very delicious my bf also enjoyed it might cut back on the sugar though but other than that i will definately make this cake again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2003
I can't say enough about this cake! It is FANTASTIC! It is easy to make, it tastes incredible, and everyone LOVES it! I just use half the sugar cinnamon mixture for the middle though. EXCELLENT RECIPE! THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Apple Peanut Butter Cake

See smart tips that make baking and cleanup a snap.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States