Honeyed Pork Chops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
excellent recipe - my kids and husband loved it. I recommend adding garlic and I also doubled the honey. I covered the baking sheet with foil for half the cooking time and then uncovered for the last half to get the glazing. I served with rice and broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
309 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
We all LOVED LOVED LOVED this meal it was fantastic! Because I was feeling too lazy to chop the onion I THINLY sliced the onion and made a bed of it for the chops to lay on and poured the sauce over the top of it all.Once the chops were cooked I strained the drippings and made a sauce by making a roux with 1 T. butter and 1 T. flour then added the drippings. The onions were an added treat (if you don't mind cooked onions). So sweet and tender. Served with Japanese-Style Sesame Green Beans (also on this site), mandarin oranges and plain white rice. WOW. As another suggested, it would be great to mix some of the sauce in with the rice (rather than just piling it on top). SO SO SO Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
190 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kelseyville, California, USA
Living In: Seymour, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2006
This was GREAT! I made it for company tonight (which always makes me a little nervous, trying a new recipe with company coming) but it turned out exactly as I was hoping. The only change I made was to use half soy sauce and half teriyaki sauce instead of all the soy sauce that was called for. It was sweet but not too sweet, and the meat was so moist! It tasted like I had marinated it. I did only end up cooking it for about 40 minutes and it was completely done, even a little more dry than I would have preferred.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
110 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dorese

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewiston, Idaho, USA
Living In: Blackfoot, Idaho, USA
Photo by Ivora
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2006
Very delicious! I just made these for dinner tonight. I did as other reviewers suggested and added more honey to the sauce. I went an extra mile and marinated the chops for three hours in honey, garlic salt, and manderain juice. Cooked it covered half the time, flipped them, and then uncovered it for the final ten to fifteen minutes of baking. The frying part in the recipe DOES help so DO NOT SKIP that part. I served the chops with garlic red potatoes and salad with homemade dressing. Fantastic!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2004
Yummy! Has a good sweet taste. I will surely use this recipe again. I did cut the recipe in half,it would have been way to much for my husband and I. I also flipped the pork chops half way through cooking to get both sides cooked in the sauce. I think it would be even better if it was marinated over night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
This was a fabulous recipe. I did add worchestshire sauce and green/red peppers to the sauce. Everyone love it. I plan to try it with pork tenderloin next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
Thank you! This was really simple and very tasty. I didn't pan sear the pork chops first and they turned out very well. I would suggest using very little water, if any. The flavor is really wonderful, and my husband loved them, too. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Maricopa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2007
I thought this was fantastic and it smells so good when baking! I didn't change anything about the recipe except I only used 4 chops (well, tenerloin boneless chops) but kept the rest of the portions as written. I didn't really measure the honey (I'm sure it was about 3-4Tbs), either, but I wouldn't change a thing! I covered with foil for the first 30m, then took it off till the meat reached 160, which took about 40m more - my chops were about 1.5" thick. Delicious! Will be making again! Oh - I didn't brown in the pan first, but that's just b/c I didn't want to wash the additional pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MPMommy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
First I had to scale this to 9 chops, but then followed exactly except I didn't have onion. My chops were on the thin side so I only baked for about 25 minutes. Definately a tasty dish, also I did flip halfway through to get both sides coated well w/ the sauce. Will make again, and I might add more honey so that flavor comes through better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2005
We thought it was great. Something different and will defiantly make it again. I made some little changes ...I added the juice from a fresh mandarin and twice the amount of honey to the sauce. Marinated the meat in the sauce for 1 1/2 hours. Put garlic powder on the chops before frying. I baked 3 chops for a little over a hour. My Husband said 5 stars for sure. It was not too sweet just a nice flavorful combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Bluff, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 482) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mistakenly Zesty Pork Chops

Baked pork chops in a zippy, accidentally delicious sauce.

Marinated Baked Pork Chops

See how to make simple, saucy baked pork chops.

Oven-Fried Pork Chops

See a simple, inexpensive way to make tender baked chops.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States