Honeyed Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
My family and I thought this recipe was delicious. I added a little garlic but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. To eliminate extra pans, I sauteed the meat and veggies in a dutch oven on the stove and then poured the sauce over and put it in the oven. After 2 hours, the meat was very tender. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2003
Very tasty. I was looking for a way to use up some stew beef I had in the freezer but didn't want to make that potatoes and carrots gravy type stew during the heat of summer. I followed the recipe almost to a tee except I didn't brown the meat and cooked it in the slow cooker, used sherry for half the water amount, used bottled lemon juice, and added the pineapple as other reviewers had suggested. I also added some cornstarch towards the end to thicken the sauce a bit. I will definetly make this again. But be warned these surprisingly small amounts of honey, lemon juice, mustard and ketchup do make for a subtle sweet and sour, oriental type sauce and it isn't at all what you expect for "stew". Next time I think I will dust the meat with flour or cornstarch. Yes, serve with rice, set the places with chopsticks and pass the soy sauce. Tell hubby it's "pepper steak" and forget the word "stew".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTCYN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Bay Minette, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2001
This has become a new favorite at our house. It is easy, and perfect for gloomy winter days. It's great served over steamed rice. I usually wait to add the green pepper until near the end of cooking, to prevent it from getting too soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
This is in the oven right now; based on the good aroma I'd say that this is going to taste like a "5". I plan to serve it tomorrow over brown rice. Update: I doubled the sauce ingredients and left the stew uncovered for about 20 mins - that was enough to thicken it to a very nice stew-y consistency. Definitely a keeper recipe for stew that's a little different than the usual.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2006
This is one excellent recipe. I browned the meat and then instead of baking it, I put it into my slow cooker, and put 2 T. of instant tapioca into the sauce which then thickened as it was slow cooking. I added the chopped green pepper about 1/2 before serving. This way the pepper was not mush. My husband loved this recipe, as did my elderly mother. I served it with rice, but think it would go good with Yuca. I did add 2 cloves of garlic, as I felt it was missing something. The sauce was excellent and enough. I think if you bake it, there may not be enough gravy. It's a Keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRUDY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2002
I loved the sweet and sour taste of this. I didn't have any lemon juice on hand, so I substituted it for pure malt vinegar. Next time I think I might add pieces of pineapple to this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
i thoughtit was a great dish i did make a few changes though i added garlic and ginger to the meat when i browned it off. i also used brown mustard to give it a little spice.but otherwise thought it was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2003
Eliminate the green pepper. It doesn't do a thing for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
We put all the ingredients in the crock pot on low all day. We added a shredded potatoe a bit of fresh grated ginger and a dash of cumin. It was very delicious and easy. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2002
The sauce tasted really intersting, kind of sweet and tangy. The meat was very tender, practically melted in my mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Baden, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Beef & Guinness Stew

Dark beer does delicious things to traditional beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States