Honeyed Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2001
This has become a new favorite at our house. It is easy, and perfect for gloomy winter days. It's great served over steamed rice. I usually wait to add the green pepper until near the end of cooking, to prevent it from getting too soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2002
I loved the sweet and sour taste of this. I didn't have any lemon juice on hand, so I substituted it for pure malt vinegar. Next time I think I might add pieces of pineapple to this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2002
The sauce tasted really intersting, kind of sweet and tangy. The meat was very tender, practically melted in my mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Baden, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2002
I've made this recipe 2 or 3 times already. It has a nice sweet taste. It was great over white rice. The first time I made it I used the pressure cooker for the meat and it was so tender it literally fell to pieces (yum!). I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MASON204

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2003
Great recipe! Me and my mother really enjoyed it. I left the lemon juice out, but it still tasted wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PRETTY_KITTY84

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2003
Eliminate the green pepper. It doesn't do a thing for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2003
Very tasty. I was looking for a way to use up some stew beef I had in the freezer but didn't want to make that potatoes and carrots gravy type stew during the heat of summer. I followed the recipe almost to a tee except I didn't brown the meat and cooked it in the slow cooker, used sherry for half the water amount, used bottled lemon juice, and added the pineapple as other reviewers had suggested. I also added some cornstarch towards the end to thicken the sauce a bit. I will definetly make this again. But be warned these surprisingly small amounts of honey, lemon juice, mustard and ketchup do make for a subtle sweet and sour, oriental type sauce and it isn't at all what you expect for "stew". Next time I think I will dust the meat with flour or cornstarch. Yes, serve with rice, set the places with chopsticks and pass the soy sauce. Tell hubby it's "pepper steak" and forget the word "stew".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTCYN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Bay Minette, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
I served it over rice and enjoyed it along with my 3 kids, hubby didn't like it though I don't know why. I didn't think it tasted like sweet and sour, it just tasted sweet to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2006
This is one excellent recipe. I browned the meat and then instead of baking it, I put it into my slow cooker, and put 2 T. of instant tapioca into the sauce which then thickened as it was slow cooking. I added the chopped green pepper about 1/2 before serving. This way the pepper was not mush. My husband loved this recipe, as did my elderly mother. I served it with rice, but think it would go good with Yuca. I did add 2 cloves of garlic, as I felt it was missing something. The sauce was excellent and enough. I think if you bake it, there may not be enough gravy. It's a Keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRUDY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
i thoughtit was a great dish i did make a few changes though i added garlic and ginger to the meat when i browned it off. i also used brown mustard to give it a little spice.but otherwise thought it was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef & Guinness Stew

Dark beer does delicious things to traditional beef stew.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States