Honeydew Blueberry Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
I just did not care for this -- the look nor the taste. Would just much rather eat slices of melon and a handful of the berries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Blandon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
A little bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
When I first tasted this, it was much like a smoothie. But after first bite it wasn't very good. The flavor is nice, but it is definitely missing something if you are going to eat more than one spoonful. I tried it with oatmeal cookies and even just oatmeal and thought each of those made it worse than alone. I also tried a few cereals and strangely cherrios was the best, but still not great. Granola might work, but I still don't think that will be it. I don't know what it needs, but definitely won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2009
I served it without the oatmeal cookies. Did a single serving by combining 1/2 cup of honeydew with about a tbsp of almond milk (simply because the honeydew was still too thick after pureeing). Also added one splenda packet to sweeten it-- my honeydew was a bit sour. Results-- very good, crisp and refreshing! Added about a 1/4 cup of blueberries to the top after chilling. Easy! With my modifications (without cookie, but + about 5 cals for the almond milk) this came out to 57 calories, 39 mg of sodium, 11g of sugars, 13g of carbs, 1g of protein and 2g of fiber.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2009
Loved this one too! The oatmeal cookies have just enough hint of cinnamon that it add a little extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
10+++ stars!! I made it exactly as stated and it was awesome. I pulsed the food processor to leave it kinda chunky. If you like this one, try the chilled cantaloupe soup, because its just as good as this one, and just as simple too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2007
I thought this was excellent! You have to be sure to pick the ripest melon you can but I also used blackberries instead of blueberries just because I like them better. I also added a few pinches of Himalayan Pink Sea Salt (you can get it at World Market) prior to chilling which helped to bring out all the flavors. The only oatmeal cooking I had in the house were the Gril Scout Cartwheel cookies so I used them but next time I am going to try with ginger snaps as mentioned by someone else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2006
It's a good base. On its own, I felt like it tasted like baby food, too bland and mushy. I ended up mixing the leftovers with strawberries and tapioca and baking it with a 'crumble' topping (brown sugar, flour, oats, and butter). Thanks, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Iowa City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2006
simple and good. i sprinkled a little bit of ginger on top, along with the cookie, and it tasted great! i might add plain or vanilla yogurt next time to make it a little less grainy, but otherwise the recipe is great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
I loved this because it was a great starting point. I did the honeydew with blackberries, awesome, thank you! I was not a fan of the cookie. I added a little honey to mine and put just a touch of sour cream on top. One was a great foil for the other. I found that I liked cantelope better with the blue berries. I added just a touch of Brandy to the mix, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Very Best Blueberry Cobbler

A gooey blueberry cobbler with a light, cakey topping.

Best Ever Blueberry Cobbler

This cobbler is bursting with blueberry flavor, a great summer dessert.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States