Honey and Flaxseed Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
My husband and I love whole grain bread and this one is moist considering using only whole wheat flour. I already had the flax seed oil (from Vitamin World but saw in Walmart with vitamins) but I am not sure if the Omega Vitamins are baked away???... so substituting olive oil seems fine to me. I added a little pinch of cinnamon and cardamon (not enough to be sweet just good flavor).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
Came out great! I made it in my bread machine and only added 2 tablespoons of sunflower seeds and two tablespoons of vital wheat gluten. yummy! will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKOFDEATH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Honesdale, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
This turned out to be one of the best whole wheat breads that ever came out of my breadmaker! I didn't have flaxseed oil or liquid lecithin, so I substituted safflower oil and granulated lecithin. Besides, flaxseed oil and liquid lecithin are a bit on the pricy side. I also experimented with agave nectar in place of the honey. It worked well. Whey powder is not very expensive, and can be purchased in bulk from most health food stores, including Whole Foods/Wild Oats and the Vitamin Cottage. Milled flaxseed is available in the health food sections of most supermarkets nowadays. My breadmaker calls for the water temperature to be 85 degrees F. Finally, table salt works just as well as sea salt, plus it's readily available in iodized form, which is a good way to get this valuable micronutrient. This one's a keeper! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
This bread is delicious! This is the first bread I made with my new bread machine and the whole family loves it, especially my 1 year old. What a healthy breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
tastes good and good for you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
This bread was very tasty! My husband loves it. The only problem I had was that I didn't add any liquid lecithin. My bread was kind of dry, I think its because I skipped on the lecithin. I will make this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
This is a great recipe. I have tried it and recommended it to many others who also love it. Even my picky husband eats it. Tasty and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
Excellent recipe for a healthy homemade bread. My 2 year old eats a piece every morning with butter and jelly. I prepare the bread by putting all ingredients in the breadmaker and set it to manual. When finished let it rise for an hour, then put in a loaf pan and bake at 350 for 35 mins. This makes a nice loaf without it looking like it came out of a breadmaker . I also found out the hard way that you can buy flaxseed oil at Wal-Mart for alot cheaper than in a helthfood store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KristyW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
Excellent recipe! Found all the ingredients at my local Organic Market and the bread is an absolute hit with my family. Very moist and makes great sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beachthreads

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Net
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2007
I love this recipe. It has a really good taste, texture. I subsitute whole wheat flour with bread flour. I didn't have flaxseed oil so I put olive oil. I put just only 1 t of salt and if you use five red stars yeast 1 t is enough. I just use basic setting and it turned out perfect. Thank you very very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States