Honey and Flaxseed Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
Sounds great! So where do you purchase liquid lecithin and whey powder? 'Raters' said they had to search for some ingredients...so where did they find them? I am only rating this because I must, or my review will not record. I really want to try this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2004
Excellent! You MUST grind the flaxseed in order to receive any health benefits - otherwise it will pass through whole and you will miss out on all of the nutritional benefits. It is very hard to find high quality whole wheat bread recipes and this one is awesome. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
Excellent recipe for a healthy homemade bread. My 2 year old eats a piece every morning with butter and jelly. I prepare the bread by putting all ingredients in the breadmaker and set it to manual. When finished let it rise for an hour, then put in a loaf pan and bake at 350 for 35 mins. This makes a nice loaf without it looking like it came out of a breadmaker . I also found out the hard way that you can buy flaxseed oil at Wal-Mart for alot cheaper than in a helthfood store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KristyW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2008
This turned out to be one of the best whole wheat breads that ever came out of my breadmaker! I didn't have flaxseed oil or liquid lecithin, so I substituted safflower oil and granulated lecithin. Besides, flaxseed oil and liquid lecithin are a bit on the pricy side. I also experimented with agave nectar in place of the honey. It worked well. Whey powder is not very expensive, and can be purchased in bulk from most health food stores, including Whole Foods/Wild Oats and the Vitamin Cottage. Milled flaxseed is available in the health food sections of most supermarkets nowadays. My breadmaker calls for the water temperature to be 85 degrees F. Finally, table salt works just as well as sea salt, plus it's readily available in iodized form, which is a good way to get this valuable micronutrient. This one's a keeper! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
Excellent, but don't use flax oil for cooking! Oils high in essential fatty acids are not good for cooking. In fact, heat can turn these healthy fats into harmful ones. Add flax oil to foods after cooking and just before serving. Still great with vegetable oil!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2000
This is one of the best whole wheat recipes I have found. I have a grain mill so I can mill my own wheat which makes it extra fiber-rich! I've also used spelt flour and it was delicious. This is a new family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marlborough, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2000
This was my very first bread I made in my bread machine, and it turned out Great! Flax seeds are good for reducting cholesterol, so good for you too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2004
I found some of the ingredients a bit pricey but was well worth the effort in finding and money spent. The best bread we have ever eaten! I didn't change a thing in your recipe and it turned out perfectly. Thanks for sharing your recipe Susan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
Excellent recipe! Found all the ingredients at my local Organic Market and the bread is an absolute hit with my family. Very moist and makes great sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beachthreads

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2000
I have made this recipe several times, and every loaf is consistently good. My family really likes it. I have even made it using 3 cups of white flour instead with very nice results, when I didn't have whole wheat flour available.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States