Honey and Flaxseed Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by soupy
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
We really enjoyed this bread. We used as toast with jam. It was a perfect looking bread with great wheat flavor. The whole loaf was gone in one day. Shared by 5 people. If I make wheat bread again I will make this recipe. I didn't add the whey powder or the liquid lecithin because I knew it would be eatten all in one day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
I didn't have the liquid lecithin and whey powder at home, so I left them out. Also substituted flaxseed meal for the seeds because it is better absorbed by our bodies. This is a delicious, nutty bread. Great toasted with butter and mild honey!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2009
Sorry, was just reading this recipe and wanted to spread caution that I believe flax seed oil can be a carcinogen when heated to certain temperatures and/or when it spoils (which from what I understand is a short shelf life). I have seen recommendations that you should buy the seed and grind as needed and keep in your freezer. Please look into this if you plan to make this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2009
Thanks for sharing this receipe it's so healthy and nutritious . Luv the idea of Flaxseed oil, really brings out a nice aroma after baking. Nice ham sandwich filled with lots of veggies ! Yummy......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vanillapod

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
This bread is a blessing!! My husband is on a limited diet and supplements for a yeast issue. The herbalist said that he could only eat homemade bread with raw honey, in moderation. I have always made homemade bread with freshly ground wheat--but because of the flaxseed and lecithin, this is much healthier. I even substituted coconut oil for part of the oil, since it is a yeast fighter and left out the bread flour and whey. My husband doesn't like the bread cooked in the machine, but I just put it on the dough setting and flip it into a pan when the kneading is done. It makes wonderful rolls and hamburger buns, too. Like all homemade breads, it keeps much better if you immediately store leftovers in the freezer. Even my 5 children love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
1st time-didn't rise. Tested yeast-ok 2nd time-added a little sugar with the yeast. 3rd time, added sugar-ok, top flattened slightly. The only thing I can attribute it to, even though it makes no sense to me, was that I used raw honey for times 1 and 3. Will keep using the recipe as it is healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
Excellent, but don't use flax oil for cooking! Oils high in essential fatty acids are not good for cooking. In fact, heat can turn these healthy fats into harmful ones. Add flax oil to foods after cooking and just before serving. Still great with vegetable oil!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
Maybe the whey powder was that important, or maybe this was just a dry, uneventful bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
This has become the family favorite! I've been making bread for years and this is a GREAT way to get more fiber and Omega's into the diet. DD's 5.7 and 9 skarf it down as fast as I get it made. The Lesithin was a hastle to deal with at first, but I got one of those pump things for shampoo and conditioner bottles, put it on the bottle of lesithin. Two pumps is exactly 1/2 Tbsp, and no more trying to clean out the measuring device. I also usually use flax seed meal instead of straight seeds. Wither way turns out every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redmond, Washington, USA
Living In: Vale, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
I have been making bread for a long, long time, and this bread is the best ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States