Honey Whole Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 14, 2011
Delicious! I made the adjustments suggested by others - 1/4c honey, 2c wheat flour, 1.2 tsp salt. Made this on the dough setting in the breadmaker, then put it in a regular 9x5 loaf pan and let it rise for an hour, baked at 350 for just over 25 minutes in a pre-heated oven, and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2011
Followed the advice of others by changing: salt to 1 tsp , 1/4 c honey, 2c wheat flour & 1c bread flour, and butter instead of oil. Amazing flavor & texture. This one is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ThornsandRoses

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2011
I made this bread AS IS and it is DELICIOUS! I saw other reviews say they added more honey but I think it would make it way too sweet. I did have a problem with it collapsing in my bread machine so I may add less yeast next time but I think that may also have to do with the higher altitude. But the flavor was AMAZING!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
This is my favorite whole wheat recipe! It makes a very flavorful, filling wheat bread. Easy to follow and comes out great every time. I love this loaf just the way it is with no changes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Netzette
Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
I no longer buy wheat bread, but make this recipe about once a week! It is so simple and so delicious. The first time I made it, I didn't have the shortening or the dried milk, so I followed others' suggestions and added and 1/8 of a cup of milk to 1 cup of warm water and 2 T. of veg oil. It came out fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
This is the best wheat bread recipe i've come across. All others just don't seem to be as moist and...well...Perfect! Thanks, Kathy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vodkagimlet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Van Buren, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Fort Smith, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
This is the absolute Best whole wheat bread ever! I have used it many times and agree with others: change to 1/2 c honey, use 1 cup white and 2 cups whole wheat bread flour and substitute melted butter for oil & DON'T try doubling it lol!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissesMeowmix

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Awesome recipe! Great taste, really good texture. I will definitely use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Liked the taste of this bread; I followed a reviewer by removing it from my bread machine prior to the 3rd rise; let it sit in a covered pan for 30 minutes, then baked in an oven with a pan of water. It's a lot heavier than I imagined, but that may just be wheat bread itself...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sameera Azad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
I made this bread last night did take advice and did 2c wheat flour bread maker flour (Redmill) 1c white bread maker flour. 1/4c honey and 2tsp bread maker yeast. I used my breadmaker on dough setting. then took the dough and made 4 lg dinner rolls and 1 loaf I buttered the pans first. ( cover with plastic wrap and put on top of stove to help rise with oven on low, in 30 min the dough had risen up beautifully.As good as my Moms or grandmas. This Redmill whole wheat bread maker flour was beautiful I am going to try it with no white flour next time. Baked 375 for 20 min med brown color on top. The rolls were so pillowy soft inside. This is going to be a family favorite. Cinnamon rolls coming next. Enjoy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 319) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States