Honey Whole Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
I took tips from other reviewers and made it with: two cups whole wheat flour, 1 cup bread flour, 1 tsp salt, 1/4 cup organic maple syrup, and the rest is exactly like the above recipe. The previous night I tried making a whole wheat loaf with the breville recipe booklet but it was so dense and didn't rise. This was AWESOME; chewy, moist, soft, not too dense not too light, semi sweet, tasty, and it rose perfectly. I put my bread maker on basic/ light crust like one of the reviewers and it took an hour and a half to bake which is magnificent compared to the whole wheat setting which takes 3.5 hours. I love this bread and will be making it over and over:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I've just tried this bread today for a first time. Baked it in my new bread machine. Turned out wonderful! I used 2 cups of wheat flour and 1 cup of bread flour, 1/4 cup of honey and 3/4 of tea spoon of salt. The bread is soft and moist. Great flavour! It's a keeper :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
Awesome as is. However I've tweaked it for a softer/sweeter taste that my kids will eat without complaining. I use 1 1/4 cup water, 1/4 cup honey, 1 TBSP white sugar, 1 tsp sea salt. I add 1-1/2 TBSP Vital Wheat Gluten to make it softer. Other than that, everything the same, put on dough cycle then I put in a greased bread pan, let it rise, and bake at 375 degrees for about 30 mins. (keep an eye). YUM!! My go to recipe! Thanks for sharing, gave me a good base to start with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. JOHNSON

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
Used the suggestions from SASSY43028 and it came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
I have been searching for my perfect honey wheat bread recipe. I followed the recipe exactly. I'm still looking for my perfect recipe. This was dry, bland, and oddly spongy. I'm not going back to this recipe. The search continues...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bacon Butterfly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
This recipe was really good. I used molasses instead of honey, only because I had some that needed to be used and I really like the flavor of molasses in baked goods. It's really good warm with butter. I think the recipe is great the way it is and requires no changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2013
very good, used 2c ww flour, 1c white. 1/4c honey, 1 tsp salt. use 1 tsp yeast 2 lb loaf, ww setting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by autoteacher
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2013
I wasn't real happy with this recipe until I modified it: I proofed the yeast adding it to the 115 degree water and honey for 10 minutes, then add the oil and SIFTED flours in that order. It worked just as good in a $20,low quality, purchased on CL bread machine! I've substituted molasses for honey and it's even tastier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
I liked this recipe a lot! It is THE one I will be using for my wheat bread from now on. I recently received a Breadman bread making machine. I have to say, it is the best I have ever had. This particular recipe is almost exactly the same as the one for whole wheat bread in the machine recipe book. I made a couple changes, having read the other reviews. I used 1/2 cup honey, 1 tsp. salt, then after experimenting with this recipe, I decided to used 2 cups whole wheat flour, and 1 1/2 cups bread flour, because I the machine is larger and also because I found to improve the wheat taste of the bread. The texture of this bread, whether done my way or as written is excellent. The temperature of the water is crucial, in my opinion. I used canola oil instead of vegetable, to make it a little healthier, or at least I thought it would. :) Next time I shall run the dough cycle only and bake it in the oven. I did this when I added raisins to the mix for a raisin wheat bread. Although I did not like the taste at all fresh out of the oven. After it had sat and cooled for a day, I toasted a thick slice, just so as not to waste it. It was quite good. I will be doing it again. I found that eating it without butter or margarine is preferable to my taste. I also put a light coating of 10X sugar and milk on the loaves fresh out of the oven. Definitely a keeper. So many ways to adapt this basic recipe. Thank you so much for sharing & all the reviewers for sharing their experiences!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LittlDuck15

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamstown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Glassboro, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
I thought this was really good. I did make the changes many had suggested. I used 2 cups of whole wheat flour and 1 cup bread flour. I upped the honey to 1/4 cup and added 1 tsp salt. I also used butter instead of oil. I baked this in the oven instead of my bread maker. It rose nicely, I did 2 rises, the 2nd in the loaf pan. The bread came out beautiful and tastes so good with the modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 317) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States