Honey Whole Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
One of the very best if not the best bread recipe. I also live at high altitude and used a slightly modified recipe as submitted by EJonespr - but the bread is top notch and will make it regularly. The texture is perfect - it is hard to get a good bread at over 6,000 feet high altitude. Thank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2015
This is a delicious recipe. I love the slightly chewy texture of the bread; I rarely get that from bread maker recipes. I did 1 cup whole wheat and 1/2 cup white and it turned out perfectly. A little extra honey adds a touch of sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alan Deuel
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Mine keeps sinking in the middle. It rises great but when it bakes it falls every time. I have tried the whole wheat setting and basic setting with the same result. I have white bread down to a science but the darn wheat is putting up a fight. Yes I measure ingreadents carefully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alan Deuel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Morris2012
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
This bread is amazing! Sliced with an electric knife and it's perfect for sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
This made a beautiful loaf of bread, and it tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
Thank you all for your tweaks. This is the best wheat bread I have ever made. I put in 1/4 C of honey, 1 tsp. Salt, 2 C whole wheat flour, 1 C of all purpose flour, and 2 tbsp. Of butter instead of what was listed on the recipe. I baked it in a bread machine using the basic setting, light crust and 1.5 lb. loaf. Even my husband ate it, and he is not a fan of wheat bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
Loved this bread recipe! Like others, I used 1/4 cup of molasses instead of 3 Tbsp of honey, and 1 tsp of salt. Also used 3 cups of whole wheat bread machine flour. The bread came out a beautiful shade of brown from the molasses, and was just perfect moistness and flavour. Next loaf I'll try 1/4 cup of honey instead and see how it comes out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
Very moist! I followed other reviewers and increased the honey to 1/4 c and salt to 1 tsp. I left the flour as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
Yes! I love this recipe! I wanted to use my bread machine without having to take the dough out, etc. I made this bread using this exact recipe, thinking I could tinker with it later IF it came out at all. YAY! It came out with just a slight drop on one side - This bread is delicious! I didn't change this recipe at all. My daughter loved it too, and she would not hesitate to let me know if she didn't like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
I have made this twice and love it. I rated 4/5 because I did modify the recipe slightly after reading some of the reviews. The biggest change is that I mixed the dry ingredients in a bowl and stirred it thoroughly prior to placing it in the bread machine. I used olive oil. I used the rapid wheat setting on my bread machine. The texture was so light and airy and the flavor was wonderful. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Mililani, Hawaii, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 329) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States