Honey Whole Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
I made this today using some of the modifications recommended by others. I used 1/4 cup honey, 1 teas salt, 2 cups whole wheat flour, 1 cup bread flour, 2T softened butter instead of the oil and added 1 Tablespoon vital wheat gluten. The rest was unchanged. I ran the bread machine on the dough cycle, pulled the dough out, punched it down and put it in a greased loaf pan. I allowed it to rise until it reached the top of the pan--it took almost an hour. Then baked for 25 min at 350. It was really good. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
I made the additions recommended by CLASSYLADY and my loaf is so beautiful coming out of the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
I've made this bread multiple times and it always turns out great. Good for sandwiches as it is sturdy. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by acooper415
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
I gave this 3 stars because my loaf was beautiful and the bread consistancy was perfect for slicing. I made it as written however, I put my machine on dough and shaped in a loaf pan let it rise 45 min and cooked in a 350 degree oven between 25 and 30 minutes. I will definately make again taking the advice of other reviewers and add more honey, salt, butter and divide the flours differently as the taste was lacking in flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
I followed the recipe along with a few of the suggestions and the bread did not turn out well at all. The loaf was very small and the taste was sort of bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
Did not raise well enough. Maybe I need to test my yeast. Very dense and moist. Nice crust. A little salty (will cut back on salt next time when using salted butter.)Will try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
The middle of my bread fell in. Despite that the flavor and the texture of the bread was good. I used 1tbsp of blackstrap molasses in place of one of the tbsp of honey. I also increased salt to 1 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tantuc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Laguna Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
The bread had a light texture just like my hb likes it. The four stars is because it doesn't taste that wheaty, which is what I like. Next time, I may try putting the dough into two bread pans and baking them in the oven, as my bread machine loaf came out really tall -- not a fault of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
As written, it is pretty decent other than the salt ratio was off so I used a tsp. This bread as written wasn't my favorite. The second time I made it though it came out outstanding. We like a sweeter wheat so I used about 1/4 of a cup of honey, I also used more wheat flour like the other reviewers- 2 cups wheat, 1 cup bread flour and still 1tsp of salt. It was loved by my family and is always requested. I love this recipe was easy to customize. I would rate a 4.5 because of the lack of salt, it really does add to the final loaf and it could mess a newbie bread cook up. But other than that fabulous! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
Could I make this without a bread machine?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 319) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States