Honey Whole Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Alan Deuel
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
Mine keeps sinking in the middle. It rises great but when it bakes it falls every time. I have tried the whole wheat setting and basic setting with the same result. I have white bread down to a science but the darn wheat is putting up a fight. Yes I measure ingreadents carefully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alan Deuel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Morris2012
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
This bread is amazing! Sliced with an electric knife and it's perfect for sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
This made a beautiful loaf of bread, and it tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
Thank you all for your tweaks. This is the best wheat bread I have ever made. I put in 1/4 C of honey, 1 tsp. Salt, 2 C whole wheat flour, 1 C of all purpose flour, and 2 tbsp. Of butter instead of what was listed on the recipe. I baked it in a bread machine using the basic setting, light crust and 1.5 lb. loaf. Even my husband ate it, and he is not a fan of wheat bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
Loved this bread recipe! Like others, I used 1/4 cup of molasses instead of 3 Tbsp of honey, and 1 tsp of salt. Also used 3 cups of whole wheat bread machine flour. The bread came out a beautiful shade of brown from the molasses, and was just perfect moistness and flavour. Next loaf I'll try 1/4 cup of honey instead and see how it comes out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
Very moist! I followed other reviewers and increased the honey to 1/4 c and salt to 1 tsp. I left the flour as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
Yes! I love this recipe! I wanted to use my bread machine without having to take the dough out, etc. I made this bread using this exact recipe, thinking I could tinker with it later IF it came out at all. YAY! It came out with just a slight drop on one side - This bread is delicious! I didn't change this recipe at all. My daughter loved it too, and she would not hesitate to let me know if she didn't like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2014
I have made this twice and love it. I rated 4/5 because I did modify the recipe slightly after reading some of the reviews. The biggest change is that I mixed the dry ingredients in a bowl and stirred it thoroughly prior to placing it in the bread machine. I used olive oil. I used the rapid wheat setting on my bread machine. The texture was so light and airy and the flavor was wonderful. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brainerd, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Mililani, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
I decided to buy a bread machine after several disappointing purchases from my neighbourhood bakeries. The last loaf I bought cost $3.00 and was as hard as a rock. I couldn't even use a slice as a frisbee; it was too heavy. What made it worse was that the lady assured me the bread was baked that day. I received my Hamilton Beach bread machine last night and couldn't wait to try this recipe. This was my first time baking bread - ever. I took the advice of other users and increased the salt and honey. It was hard to wait 15 minutes to cool the bread down. The smell was enticing. It is delicious - soft, warm,light, mmmmmm. My two year old son was adamant that he was not hungry, yet ate 2 slices. He even rejected eggs - his favorite breakfast food so he could have "more bread please, mommy." I cannot wait to make this again when my husband comes home. I believe this bread will make a whole wheat convert out of him. Next time, I will try the dough setting and bake it in a traditional loaf pan. Thanks, Kathy. Update: I baked this bread for my husband when he got back from his trip last night. He told me not to feel bad if he didn't like it because he doesn't like wheat bread. Needless to say, he ate his words and 3/4 of the loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
Since my husband is on a low sodium diet, I am glad to find a bread that works for us. This was very good. I made it exactly as called for with the ingredients, but don't have a bread machine, so made the "old fashioned" way, by kneading and rising. Put the flours and salt in a large bowl. In a separate bowl, put honey, yeast and water and mix, add the oil, then put that into the dry ingredients. Mix well, knead for about 8 minutes on a floured counter, let rise in a greased, covered bowl for an hour or so, punch down and form into a loaf, put in greased loaf pan, let rise again. Bake for about 30 minutes at 350. I will make this again - made a delicious, dense, sweet bread with very little salt. Also, being in a loaf form, we got more than 10 slices from it, making each slice lower in calories and sodium content.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 327) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States