Honey White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
I made this bread last weekend and am making it again right now. The family loves it! I didn't add the vitamin c powder because we don't have it here but I added extra honey for the sweetness this time! Thumbs up!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
My whole family really liked this one and said the ginger really gave it a little 'something'. I, however, was not terribly impressed. I liked it, but felt that the ginger would taste funny with sandwiches and the like. I found another bread recipe that we all enjoyed and agreed that it would be our white bread. Now to find a wheat or multigrain bread option too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Khali

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
This is our everday sandwich bread. I leave out the ginger and vitamin C powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
One of our favorite bread recipes. We never add the vitamin C or ginger and it's delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TarynLgh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
The best Honey White Bread I ever tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debby Kane Iannotti

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hanover Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2008
Left out the Vitamin C and the ginger; used safflower oil instead of butter; baked in the oven for 40 minutes at 350 degrees; yummy! Great sandwich bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellijay, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dayna~rae
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
I have made this bread before---I remember it because of the vit. C pwdr. I read in a bread book that vit C pwdr increases the rising process and helps with gluten. Anyway, I didn't have it (again) and so I didn't add it. It rose high enough, so I guess it is really not needed. I was nervous because this is the first time since Dec/Jan. I have used my bread machine with the full baking cycle. All other times the tops of the loaves have fallen. This time, the top was 'crinkly' but didn't cave all the way so I think I am successful again at bread machine making! Thanks for the post. My boys really enjoyed---they have been asking for me to make a honey loaf. (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dayna~rae

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
The combination of vitamin C and ginger is a bread enhancer, usually used to make the dough rise higher and/or to make it easier to shape. Using the two with an all bread flour recipe is really not necessary unless to shape the dough for rolls, etc. The ginger should never be enough to impart flavor and, in this recipe, it does not. I made the recipe as is except I used non-dairy creamer rather than milk (had some I needed to use up). The loaf rose beautifully and looked wonderful. However, there were "air pockets" in the bread which come from too much rise. I may make this recipe in the future, using either all purpose flour or whole grain flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Bowie, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
This bread is delicious! I followed the recipe, except that I did not have the vit c on hand. So, I omitted that. This loaf came out soft with a nice crust. It had the perfect sweetness to it. This will be my white bread recipe from now on. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Colebrook, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2006
This bread was light and fluffy and subtly sweet, but it seemed somewhat bland to me. We only ate about half the loaf. It was good, but not the most impressive loaf I have ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by almondjoy2807

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seaside, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States