Honey White Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2005
The bread had a beautiful coloring and texture. I did like one of the reviewers suggested and used an egg and also skip the Vit. C, since I didn't have any anyways, and replaced the ground ginger with a pinch of Sassafras. I also like using goat milk in place of regular cow milk, since I find it gives my breads more flavor. My mother loved it and ate most of it lol. The flavor was certainly interesting, may used it as a sort of base recipe for other ideas I have in mind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2005
AWESOME! I made this bread and it turned out PERFECT. I did not add the vitamin C powder, because I did not have any. This recipe it a Keeper. Thank You.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cuyahoga Falls, Ohio, USA
Living In: Green, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2004
This is the first bread I've ever made in my entire life! It was completely full-proof, it turned out beautiful and it tastes amazing. Everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindsNW

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Clinton, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2004
I made this according to the recipe (but used salted butter and did not add any other salt). Very good! Light and slightly sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2004
This bread is very good, although I made some changes. I was looking for a good recipe for white bread in the bread machine, so I omitted the vitamin C powder and ginger. Since I didn't have honey, I used corn syrup instead, and I used margarine instead of the unsalted butter. I also added one egg, as my bread would fall apart whenever I tried to slice it. The egg helped to hold things together. It also helped the bread to rise more. A good recipe to play around with. I've made it many times with the adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lehi, Utah, USA
Living In: Eagle Mountain, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2004
Very nice, light bread. Has a sweet flavour, with a slight tang. I used less powdered ginger than was called for. I also use salted butter, and cut the salt out down. The recipe fits my bread machine, but others may have to scale depending the quanity of their machines.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2003
So yummy! I've tried other white bread recipes on this site, but my kids (nor I) like them. Thanks for the delightful bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2003
Great texture. Is it the honey that makes it soft?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2003
This was a great bread as far as consistency goes. Nice texture, golden crust, everything you want in a bread. I did make the recipe as stated except I had no honey so I substituted with Corn Syrup. The vitamin C powder does give it a slight tang and it's good. I wasn't personally crazy about the ginger though. I think I'll omit that next time. Thanks for a wonderful basic recipe though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2003
I made this bread w/o the vitamin C or ginger and it came out great. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States