Honey Wheat Sandwich Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
I’ve been looking for a good recipe for hamburger buns. This is it!! We love them. We used 1 ¾ cups white whole wheat flour and 2 cups of all purpose flour (didn’t have bread flour). My husband is learning to bake since he retired and he is so pleased with the results of this recipe that he brags to everyone that will listen. He has made these rolls twice now, and they turn out great each time. The first time we had them with Pulled BBQ Chicken. It was wonderful. The second time we had hamburgers. I’ll never buy hamburger buns again. It makes eleven 4 inch rolls. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
These are so easy and so good! Shaped them as hoagie rolls for meatball sandwiches. They came out soft and tasty and held up well even with the meatballs and sauce. These would be great as hot dog or hamburger buns, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
Made these into caramel sticky buns and they were fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
I used my Kitchen Aid to make these rolls. I proofed the yeast (I used a whole packet of yeast which is 2 1/4 tsp.) in the mixer bowl with the honey and warm milk for ten minutes until the yeast "bloomed", then I added the egg, melted butter, then the dry ingredients. I did use 2 cups whole wheat flour and 1 3/4 cup organic whole wheat white flour. I kneaded this dough with my dough hook for about five minutes (I did have to add two tablespoons more flour to get it into a ball and be able to be kneaded with the hook). I set it to rise for an hour in a large greased bowl covered with a tea towel on a warm heating pad for an hour. I used a 1/4 cup measuring cup to make uniform rolls (dinner rolls instead of sandwich rolls) and rolled them on the counter to make better shaped rolls. I covered the top of the rolls in the muffin tin with saran wrap before letting it rise on the warm heating pad for another hour or so. I baked them at 400 degrees for 12 minutes. These rolls were really very good! I had one right out of the oven spread with butter and it was just heaven. Very good rolls! We didn't quite get them all eaten tonight at dinner (this recipe made 11 rolls) but I did cut the rolls into thick chunks and used them in a breakfast strata in the morning. NOTE: I will say that I did not get 24 rolls out of this recipe, I got 12. That was fine for me because that was all I needed. For someone else who wants a recipe that make a larger quanitity, be sure to double this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Very good flavour and easy to make! I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Guelph, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
My family loves these rolls! We dont eat them as sandwiches though, just butter 'em up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
These are AMAZING!!!!!!! My whole family loves them! I actually did 1 3/4 cups of whole wheat flour with 2 cups of white to balance out the healthy a wee bit more ;) perfection!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Delicious as is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Love these rolls! I made 12 large buns with this recipe. They are great for hamburgers and sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
I baked these for Thanksgiving. Made dough in my bread machine, baked in the oven. Everybody liked them. I expected a little sweeter taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fredjbuck

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: New Britain, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Des Moines, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 424) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

Cinnamon Rolls III

Make your own amazing mall-style cinnamon rolls!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States