Honey Wheat Sandwich Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
Soft, fluffy, tasty. They are a wonderful hamburger bun replacement. I add crushed flax seeds to mine. If you want them truly airy, let the dough rise twice before shaping it into buns. Also, molasses is a good substitution for the honey if you want them a little less sweet, and darker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
These were really good though they were a little sweet to me. Next time I may add a little more salt or cut back on the honey a bit to even them out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Mesquite, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
These are phenomenal! Made the first time with my bread machine. Made into hamburger buns. Used 1 cup white flour and 3 cups of whole wheat. Used olive oil in place of butter and a whole pkg of yeast. Used corn meal on cookie sheet instead of greasing it. Getting ready to make them again with 1 1/2 cup white flour and 2 1/2 cups of whole wheat. Going to try them in my new kitchen aid stand up mixer and make them into hot dog buns this time. YUM YUM my husband and I are both eagerly anticipating these with brats in them for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
This were soft and had a great texture! Will make these again! LOVE THEM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Easy & delicious!! I just hand-formed the dough into 12 sandwich buns; didn't use the butter on top. These were PERFECT!! Nice & hearty (weren't falling apart!) for my pulled balsamic beef sandwiches. Who needs to run to the store for sandwich buns when you have this recipe??? Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
YEEEEESSSSSS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
As advertised, these make a delicious roll/sandwich/hamburger bun. For every day use, I substitute Light Karo corn syrup for the honey, it's much cheaper and tastes less sweet than honey. I also rarely have milk on hand, but I do have half and half (for my coffee), so I use about 1 cup of water and 1/4 cup of half and half for the milk. My only other comment would be that these don't brown particularly well on their own, so if appearance is important, you might want to egg wash them. (like other reviewers, I usually don't brush on the butter at the end)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
I read the recipe too fast, and used water instead of milk. I worried the whole time these were rising. I had to had more flour, and thought it was ruined. BUT THEY WERE NOT! I used them for the Kalua pork roast from this site. It was awesome, and hubby HATES pork roast. Thanks for a great recipe. I wonder how amazing these will be when I actually use milk. lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
Love!!!!!!! Cut in squares for sandwich rolls. Complimented by everyone who has tried them! Precut and freeze for an easy sandwich bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coppell, Texas, USA
Living In: Lewisville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
I will never buy store bought buns again. My husband and 3 yr old stole most of them but what I had, I enjoyed very much. I made mine in the bread machine on dough setting. Very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristenmarie211

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Newburgh, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 430) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

Cinnamon Rolls III

Make your own amazing mall-style cinnamon rolls!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States