Honey Wheat Sandwich Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Easy & delicious!! I just hand-formed the dough into 12 sandwich buns; didn't use the butter on top. These were PERFECT!! Nice & hearty (weren't falling apart!) for my pulled balsamic beef sandwiches. Who needs to run to the store for sandwich buns when you have this recipe??? Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
YEEEEESSSSSS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
As advertised, these make a delicious roll/sandwich/hamburger bun. For every day use, I substitute Light Karo corn syrup for the honey, it's much cheaper and tastes less sweet than honey. I also rarely have milk on hand, but I do have half and half (for my coffee), so I use about 1 cup of water and 1/4 cup of half and half for the milk. My only other comment would be that these don't brown particularly well on their own, so if appearance is important, you might want to egg wash them. (like other reviewers, I usually don't brush on the butter at the end)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
I read the recipe too fast, and used water instead of milk. I worried the whole time these were rising. I had to had more flour, and thought it was ruined. BUT THEY WERE NOT! I used them for the Kalua pork roast from this site. It was awesome, and hubby HATES pork roast. Thanks for a great recipe. I wonder how amazing these will be when I actually use milk. lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
Love!!!!!!! Cut in squares for sandwich rolls. Complimented by everyone who has tried them! Precut and freeze for an easy sandwich bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coppell, Texas, USA
Living In: Lewisville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
I will never buy store bought buns again. My husband and 3 yr old stole most of them but what I had, I enjoyed very much. I made mine in the bread machine on dough setting. Very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristenmarie211

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Newburgh, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
I've made this recipe about every week now. Instead of using it for rolls, I use it for the crust on my homemade pizza. My family loves it and it comes out delicious everytime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
Made these to go with the Johnsonville Italian Sausage Sliders and they were AWESOME! mine made 18 rolls using a Coca-Cola glass to cut out fifteen roughly 3" diameter circles, then hand-forming circles for the last three rolls. About 13 minutes in my oven and they were done, and I could have eaten half a pan of them right then and there, they were delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stella Reynoso

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
I'm a newbie at yeast, but these turned out great! I made rolls, twice, to rave reviews. Tonight, I'm making buns. Don't have a bread machine, so I used my upright mixer. Angie G. has good suggestions for this. I didn't change a thing (except used AP flour) but can't imagine how one would improve on the taste. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
These were very good! I have a bit of experience with yeast, but it's been awhile. I made these as rolls for a dinner party, and they were light in texture and delicious. I used my stand mixer with two packets of regular yeast and AP flour instead of bread flour. I proofed the yeast in the warm milk, then added the butter and egg, then added the combined dry ingredients to the mixer bowl, one heaping tablespoon at a time. After one rise, I formed into informal balls and placed in greased muffin tins. Since they were risen well before dinner, I partially baked until some structure developed, then interrupted the baking. I finished them later with my convection oven. Nice, tender rolls with a good crust. Thanks for the idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bibi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 426) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

Cinnamon Rolls III

Make your own amazing mall-style cinnamon rolls!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States