Honey Wheat Sandwich Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
I love this recipe. I found the recipe Sunday and have already made 2 batches of rolls and 2 loaves of bread. I don't have a bread machine, so I use my standmixer. I put the dough hook on warm the milk and honey, proof the yeast for 10 min., add the eggs and butter, measure all dry ingredients in a bowl and whisk to make sure distributed, slowly add flour mix in 3 batches.Then I knead with the standmixer 7-10min.To make sure gluten is developed take a golf ball sized piece of dough and stretch in opposite directions using your thumb and forefinger of both hand. If it stretches thin enough to see light through without it tearing right away it is ready.)Then I just followed directions for the rolls or I made loaves. Thank you again. Know my kids only want mom's bread and not store bought bread. We all had fun making it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
273 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
This recipe has earned a permanent spot in my recipe file! Delicious and versatile--I've rolled and cut them, made them into dinner rolls, or shaped them into hoagie buns. I wanted mine wheatier, so I make them with 3 C. whole wheat flour and 1 C. white flour. I also increased the yeast to 1 1/2 tsp to make up for the heavier wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
251 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by VeggieBalls
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
These rolls rock! I mean really..I would marry them if I could. I pronounce you roll and wife, you may now kiss the roll. I'm in love. So warm and soft. My soul rolls. I'm going to go live happily ever after with my rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
201 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VeggieBalls

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Living In: Grass Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2001
Nice texture and lightly sweet flavor made the rolls kid-friendly. Next time I would make them larger (4 inches at least) to make a better size for sandwiches, and eliminate the melted butter on top, which made them greasy to handle for lunches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
This is a delicious recipe, it is great for any purpose. If you are not using a bread machine, proof the yeast in the warm mil for about 10 minutes and then add the butter, egg and honey. Mix the wet ingredients then add the dry ingredients. I kneaded the dough with my stand mixer for about 5-7 minutes. I use my oven as a proof box by preheating it to 200 with a pan of water on the bottom rack and then turning it off and placing the dough in a greased, glass bowl, turn the dough over so the top is greased, cover with a clean, smooth fabric kitchen towel and let proof for about an hour. punch the dough down and shape into either loafs or rolls and place back in the oven to proof for another hour before baking. Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsa08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2006
Perfect. I used the ring of a wide-mouth Mason jar to cut out the rolls, they were the perfect size for burgers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy D.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2002
These are now my favorite rolls...they are SOOOO GOOD. I didn't roll or cut them out. I made 16 hand shaped rolls. Thank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2001
My daughter loved these buns instead of bread for her lunchbox sandwiches!! I made a few batches to put in the freezer so everone could just help themselves. I didn't have any whole wheat flour so I just used white. Instead of lightly greasing the pan I sprinkled cornmeal on the pan. Thank you for a great addition to my recipe box!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2002
I loved this recipe!! Great flavor and texture. My husband asked that I not buy buns at the bakery anymore as these were superior. I would recommend this recipe to anyone. JO39
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2001
I made these as dinner rolls for Thanksgiving, and they were a big hit. They were very soft and the taste was excellent, my son usually turns his nose up at anything with whole wheat in it, but he sure ate these! I have another batch in the bread machine now that I will try as sandwich rolls. Thanks for the great receipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Wing

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salina, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 431) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

Cinnamon Rolls III

Make your own amazing mall-style cinnamon rolls!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States