Honey Wheat Sandwich Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2000
Great recipe for a semi sweet roll that is chewy with a smooth consistency. A good, healthy alternative to the white "fluff" breads that are so common. My 14 year old daughter loves to make these rolls as all the heavy work is done by the bread machine. She also loves the taste and will eat them as soon as they come out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2001
Nice texture and lightly sweet flavor made the rolls kid-friendly. Next time I would make them larger (4 inches at least) to make a better size for sandwiches, and eliminate the melted butter on top, which made them greasy to handle for lunches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2001
The Rolls turned out wonderful! They taste great and are easy to make. I would have rated it higher but my dough turned out very sticky and hard to work with. I think I just needed more flour. I will make them again though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2001
Good recipe. I made the buns a bit larger and used them for hamburgers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2001
My daughter loved these buns instead of bread for her lunchbox sandwiches!! I made a few batches to put in the freezer so everone could just help themselves. I didn't have any whole wheat flour so I just used white. Instead of lightly greasing the pan I sprinkled cornmeal on the pan. Thank you for a great addition to my recipe box!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2001
I made these as dinner rolls for Thanksgiving, and they were a big hit. They were very soft and the taste was excellent, my son usually turns his nose up at anything with whole wheat in it, but he sure ate these! I have another batch in the bread machine now that I will try as sandwich rolls. Thanks for the great receipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Wing

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salina, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2002
I loved this recipe!! Great flavor and texture. My husband asked that I not buy buns at the bakery anymore as these were superior. I would recommend this recipe to anyone. JO39
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2002
These are now my favorite rolls...they are SOOOO GOOD. I didn't roll or cut them out. I made 16 hand shaped rolls. Thank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2003
Awesome recipe! These taste just like the refined version of yeast rolls found in restaurants. I crave these! The dough is super easy to work with too. I didn't roll them out, just pinched and formed into rolls. Serve with honey butter and use the leftovers for sandwiches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2003
This recipe has earned a permanent spot in my recipe file! Delicious and versatile--I've rolled and cut them, made them into dinner rolls, or shaped them into hoagie buns. I wanted mine wheatier, so I make them with 3 C. whole wheat flour and 1 C. white flour. I also increased the yeast to 1 1/2 tsp to make up for the heavier wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
251 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 429) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

Cinnamon Rolls III

Make your own amazing mall-style cinnamon rolls!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States