Honey Wheat Sandwich Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
These rolls are amazing. I followed the recipe ingredients exactly and they turned out fluffy, light, and slightly sweet. I didn't bother with rolling out the dough and cutting them - I simply plop the dough on a greased and floured baking sheet and then divide the dough into small round balls...saved time and the rolls still came out beautiful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Loved these. Fluffy but soft enough to smush down to fit in your mouth. Substituted flax seed for one of the tablespoons of butter. Used an egg wash and added some quick cooking oats to the top. Skipped the melted butter. Would love to make these weekly. Got 12 rolls out of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
This recipe was fabulous! It seriously lives up to the hype. As with any bread recipe, be careful with the flour and liquids as too much or too little can ruin it. Not every baker will require the exact amount of flour, so just keep an eye on the dough during mixing to ensure it forms a firm (but slightly sticky) ball. I think I used just a little less flour than called for and a little more milk. Delicious! I'm off to go make another batch and see how it freezes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
This is a delicious recipe, it is great for any purpose. If you are not using a bread machine, proof the yeast in the warm mil for about 10 minutes and then add the butter, egg and honey. Mix the wet ingredients then add the dry ingredients. I kneaded the dough with my stand mixer for about 5-7 minutes. I use my oven as a proof box by preheating it to 200 with a pan of water on the bottom rack and then turning it off and placing the dough in a greased, glass bowl, turn the dough over so the top is greased, cover with a clean, smooth fabric kitchen towel and let proof for about an hour. punch the dough down and shape into either loafs or rolls and place back in the oven to proof for another hour before baking. Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
96 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsa08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Made these for dinner tonight. I didn't have bread flour so I subbed AP and vital wheat gluten. Instead of rolling and cutting with a biscuit cutter, I pinched off the dough, rolled it into a ball then flattened to 3/4 inch. They turned out light and fluffy. DD said this recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Solon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Excellent! I don't know if I'll ever buy store rolls again. I used some and froze some to see how they turn out after being frozen. NExt time I may try to add more whole wheat flour to make them a little more healthier. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rn01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Carmel, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
The first time I made these rolls my husband's friend came over for dinner ... he ate 10 rolls. Simple and tasty, I always have the ingredients on hand. With the bread machine doing the heavy-lifting part, I can spend my time focusing on making the meal and know my bread will come out perfect. This recipe has become a permanent staple in my home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jmerar

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
This was very good bread, but I found it to be a little heavy coming out of our bread machine. We made it as a full loaf as opposed to rolls. I would make it again and play with it a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mayaclone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kensington, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
These are the best rolls ever, no changes, i was really sad yesterday cause i baked some rolls and they came out REALLY hard!!! lol, and i never thought i was gonna try to make rolls again, but i decided to make these one because they sounded easy and given the reviews i had to try them...They are wonderful. Thank you for changing my mind about making rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by megandme
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
I added 1/8 molasses and used all fresh ground hard white wheat. YUM! Added oatmeal to the top before cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Hershey, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 431) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

Cinnamon Rolls III

Make your own amazing mall-style cinnamon rolls!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States