Honey Wheat Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Renée Buchan
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
These muffins were definitely delicious! Even my husband loved them! I added a very ripe banana, some cinnamon, walnuts, and doubled the honey, and I really enjoyed how they turned out! My husband and I aren't eating any sugar right now, so I added some granola to the top of some of them to make it a little more interesting. Finally I drizzled them all with a little bit of honey right before I served them. I would definitely make these again, but I probably would add more cinnamon and probably nutmeg as well just for some bolder flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renée Buchan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
This is a great muffin recipe. In my opinion muffins shouldn't be loaded with sugar and oil and this recipe fits that criteria! They were moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
I wanted to like these, but they were kinda bland even with doubling the honey (& the oil, too). I kinda doubt any recipe will taste like honey when it's used as a sweetener. On top, sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
I was not a fan of these. The texture was OK, but a little too chewy, and they needed either a little more honey or some sugar! they really had no flavor. I am giving them 4 stars because I have a 1 year old who refuses to let anyone feed him- he wants to do everything himself so he never gets oatmeal for breakfast and he LOVES these. I believe he will eat the whole batch himself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J. Tate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lyons, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
As is this is only a 3 star recipe, but it is a great base if you add other mix ins like chopped dates, craisins, nuts or other dried fruit. The texture is great, I didn't use muffin cups because low fat muffins always seem to stick to them for me, so I just sprayed with Pam and they popped out of the pan nicely. I also used Almond milk instead of buttermilk because thats what we have in our house. Anyhow, like I said, really nice base to add other stuff into!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
I think these were great! but they needed more flavor, so I tried adding honey butter to the tops like one of the reviews said, but I still thought they needed more flavor, so I made a glaze with melted butter, brown sugar, cinnamon, honey, and a little bit of roled oats. I used a toothpick to poke small holes in the tops, then spooned the glaze over the tops, delicious! thanks for the recipe, everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
These muffins smelt amazing while in the oven. However, the muffin was bland and boring I took another woman's advice and tried honey on the top but it was still bad. I won't be remaking these muffins, I may make my own more flavorful version but I won't repeat this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2011
I choose this recipe because I needed a snack but had no eggs or all purpose flour. Unfortunately, as written this is very bland. I added 2 tbsps brown sugar, 1 tsp vanilla, 1 tsp cinnamon and an apple grated with the peel left on. Next time add 1 tsp pumpkin pie spice as well. I had to add more flour as it was very liquidy, I got 10 muffins that baked in 20 minutes not 30. Healthy food does not need to be bland or boring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
Well I geuss I should start by thanking newport29 for this great recipe!! Anyway these were great! Cooked a bit faster than directed in the recipe, but that was no big deal. I also used maple syrup instead of honey, it was awesome! And made a powdered sugar glaze with a bit of syrup added for extra flavor, that turned out well too. Kids ate them up, I made 24, and there were 8 people eating them they are gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
I customized it by adding cranberries, sliced almonds and a little almond extract. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat and Honey Pizza Dough

See how to make healthy homemade whole wheat pizza dough.

Donut Muffins

See how to make mini muffins that taste just like cinnamon-sugar donuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States