Honey Wheat Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2001
The recipe was great...I felt the muffins needed a little more something. I substitued cinnamon spice oatmeal for plain oatmeal and added a half a cup of walnuts. As a tip, don't heat the buttermilk too long, or the batter will be too lumpy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2004
I loved the texture and the ease with which I made these muffins, but they were rather tasteless. I will, however, try them again -- next time I will add more honey, and maybe a bit of cinnamon and will NOT use paper liners (the muffins stuck to the liners and I ended up throwing away about a quarter of the muffin with the liner!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2005
My 3 year old daughter can not have wheat, dairy, eggs or sugar so I altered these slightly and she loves them (and so do I). They are very moist and tastey. Like others, I doubled the honey and oil. I used spelt flour 2/3 and rice flour 1/3 instead of wheat flour. I also used soy milk with a tablespoon of lemon juice in place of the buttermilk. I added raisins as well and a bit a cinnimon. Oh and I also added about 3 tablespoons of ground flax to the oatmeal mixture. These are healthy and delicious. Thanks Joann.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2002
After reading the reveiws I added one frozen (thawed) banana and twice the honey. I love the fact that they are not glorified cake but something with some real substance. The kids loved them too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2000
These muffins do have a good texture and healthful ingredients, but not a lot of flavor. Doubling the amount of honey and oil might improve the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2003
I brushed them with melted honey butter while still warm.It added some flavor.I also added twice as much honey as it called for,otherwise they would have been to bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
I was skepical about trying a muffin recipe without any eggs but I was surprised! These were great! I added 1/4 cup Splenda & 3/4 tsp cinnamon. Next time I'll up the cinnamon to 1 1/2 tsp. The texture is somewhat dense; I used cinnamon applesauce in place of the oil & it seemed to work fine. I'm looking forward to heating these up for snacks. I got 10 muffins out of this which is perfect since I'm the only health nut in the family! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
For whole wheat muffins these are great. I did add twice the honey and a half cup of splenda with a cup of crasins but they really turned out terrific.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2002
These muffins were great! Not too sweet, but just right! :) Couldn't really taste the honey though. They were great warmed with a squirt or honey!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
This was a great healty muffin based recipe. After reading the various commnets saying that it was bland by itself... I doubled the honey plus added raisins and pecans and chopped granny smith apples. They were absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat and Honey Pizza Dough

See how to make healthy homemade whole wheat pizza dough.

Moist Chocolate Muffins

See how to make simple homemade muffins that are moist and chocolaty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States