Honey Wheat Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
These were great! I added a few tablespoons of brown sugar and a teaspoon of cinnamon to the batter, then sprinkled cinnamon sugar over the top while they baked -yum! They were a bit like ginger bread, but without the ginger. Really great basic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
Not bad, a little bland. I didn't have buttermilk so I used milk and lemon juice and it seemed to work fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Leduc, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2010
As written, the recipe is only medium. The muffins come out flat, and it needs a lot more flavor. I wonder if an egg might help give it more rise. I tried with 3 Tbs honey and 3 Tbs maple syrup, chopped pears, and walnuts, and a bit more oil. It was 4 stars that way, but still needs something. Maybe even more maple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
These were disgusting!!! I won't be making these again. I add raisins and that did nothing to help them, I even made some honey butter and that did nothing. Thy had great texture but the flavor was horrid, it tasted like hay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Extra Foamy
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
These were pretty bland. Tasted pretty much like plain baked oatmeal. I added cinnamon and ginger but still they did not have much taste. Definitely couldn't taste the honey, so if I made these again I would double it. Lucky for me I love bland foods so I kinda like them, but you definitely couldn't serve them to anyone - they were pretty tasteless! The texture was good though and they smell delicious from the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
As healthy as these muffins are, I was surprised at how good they were! I gave it 4 stars only because I read some reviews about how bland they were, and added 2 small chopped apples, 1 tsp. cinnamon and 1/8 tsp. nutmeg to the batter. The muffins were very moist and tasty; but they still were missing something. Next time I make them, I will probably add a little more salt, to see if that will help. Thanks for a easy, healthy and tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
This was a great healty muffin based recipe. After reading the various commnets saying that it was bland by itself... I doubled the honey plus added raisins and pecans and chopped granny smith apples. They were absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
Not too great, even though I added the recommended extra honey and cinnamon. In fact, tasted like muffin-shaped oatmeal...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
Bland bland bland! I doubled the honey and added blueberries and I still did not care for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2008
These are hearty muffins, and the perfect vehicle for a chocolate fix. I added several tablespoons of plain yogurt, a couple tablespoons of sugar, cinnamon and 1/2 c cocoa powder. Still a healthier muffin, but certainly not lacking in the flavor department.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat and Honey Pizza Dough

See how to make healthy homemade whole wheat pizza dough.

Moist Chocolate Muffins

See how to make simple homemade muffins that are moist and chocolaty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States