Honey Wheat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 20, 2012
I doubled the amount of honey and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2011
This is a staple in our house and now that I have shared this with our friends every time I bake it I have to make 4 extra loaves to give away. Best tasting for toasting, plain as a sandwich or just warm out of the oven with butter or served with garlic butter with dinner. There are 3 adults in our house and we will go through almost 3 loaves a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
The loaf turned out wonderfully! It was the first loaf of bread I've ever made and I was pretty impressed with the results. The only downside is that the dough didn't rise as much the second time around and it barely rose during the baking process. Also, I barely tasted the honey... I will probably experiment with this a bit more to get my desired results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
Made lots of changes! I used whole wheat bread flour instead of all-purpose, & white bread flour instead of whole wheat flour, & quick-rise yeast instead of traditional yeast. Also proofed the yeast & 1tbsp of sugar in warm water for 10mins first. These changes allowed me to skip the first rising, & I just allowed the loaf to rise for half an hr after shaping it into a baguette shape (bad experience with underbaked bread in when baking in loaf pans). Brushed with milk before baking to help the crust brown & add extra moisture. The bread had wonderfully soft, thick texture. Might be worthwhile to bake it in a loaf pan & see how it goes. Baking directly on a baking sheet took only 25mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
This is an excellent bread. I used all wheat flour (Wheat Montana's "Prairie Gold"). Wonderful texture not heavy at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I've tried many different Honey Wheat Bread recipes and this one beats them all. My son informed me last night that it was "The best bread" I've ever made. Pretty good rating from an eleven year old. It rises great and is soft and tender like store bought bread. Thank you for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
This is my go-to bread recipe from here on out. Great bread, not too difficult!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
Very heavy and dense. I used bread flour not AP and I added gluten. Still way to heavy. Tasted good but we didn't like it for sandwiches. I liked it toasted with homemade jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
Very good bread---perhaps just a tad too salty and not sweet enough? I don't know...anyway, it was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mykaela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fossil, Oregon, USA
Living In: Oak Harbor, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
This bread was great! I made it to go with dinner and, still warm, there were a few sour spots. (however, the sour spots didn't stop us from eating it that's how good we thought it was!) We ate the second loaf the next day and there were no sour parts at all. Maybe I did something wrong, I had to measure out my yeast by teaspoons, not packets, so maybe my measurements were off. Would that effect the sour spots? It was still delicious. Thanks for the great recipe! I'll be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnnaBanana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States