Honey Wheat Bread III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
This recipe is very close to the one my mother used to make as I was growing up. I keep thinking I'm going to mess it up but after 8-10 times it just keeps coming out better than ever. I've use unbleached white bread flour with unbleached white wheat flour or unbleached whole wheat flour. No matter which I use it always comes out so good I just have to cut a slice while it's still hot and slather it with butter. YUM! I do add about an extra tablespoon of honey....everything else as stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hollywood, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2009
A very tasty bread, but didn't hold its shape too well for tuna salad sandwiches. I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blueberry_chica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Haven, Michigan, USA
Living In: Houghton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
I've attempted this recipe twice, and have not been satisfied with the results. I'm not sure what I'm doing wrong, but I don't put all the white flour in as the dough gets to feeling very heavy while kneading, and it rises well, and yet I still end up with a very dense loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
This is a great recipe for a single loaf of bread. Easy to make with ingredients that I have in the pantry. Great for all-purpose bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bogie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stuttgart, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
I like the taste, but I think I may need to add hot water to the yeast. I followed the directions as they are written but the loaf didn't rise as much as it should have. It's still good though! I'll make this again with a couple revisions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandi-Lee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kelly
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
Great recipe, thank you for sharing.:o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ames, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
I've made a couple of breads this year, and this may have been the first time I ever used yeast and did the rise/punch/rise steps. I've actually made this bread four times now, I think - not because I love it, but because I now have the recipe on hand. It's an okay bread, but maybe I'm not a good judge of honey wheat breads. I live at about 6200 feet, and used all the flour, but I could probably have used even more - the dough wound up a bit sticky while kneading it. It took almost twice as long to rise, too. The 35-minute time was maybe a minute or two too short for me - the loaf was a teensy bit moist in the center. The results were a bit dense, and crumbled a little when slicing (as another reviewer mentioned), and I couldn't really detect the honey flavor. However, I should say that I made a loaf for The Woman I Love, and she loved it (5 stars, I think).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
I've never baked bread before and this was a great recipe--really simple and not very time-consuming. And the bread is tasty! (Plus it got a seal of approval from the roommates!) I'll use this again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
Rises nicely. Excellent texture. Best wheat bread recipe I've tried
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
this bread rose incredibly high. i doubled the recipe and got two fat loaves. i added about 1/4 cup each of ground flax and wheat germ and it turned out great. i also made it in my kitchenaid mixer with the dough hook. it didn't need hand kneading with this method
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellabirthing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lewistown, Montana, USA
Living In: Belgrade, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States