Honey Wheat Bread III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Jenny Aleman
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
We really enjoyed this recipe. My husband shared this bread with his coworkers and was a hit! Easy to make,soft and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny Aleman

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
Simple and easy, this recipe makes a wonderful loaf of wheat bread. I shaped this free-form and it held its shape very well. I recommend being cautious when adding the last of the AP flour, because I didn’t need anywhere near the amount requested in the recipe. Although this was very good, I would have liked it to be just a smidgeon sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
Great loaf. Could not add the last 3/4 cup of wheat flour. I added 1 T of gluten to add height to the rise. Good texture, rose beautifully and tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2013
Tried the recipe as written but used my bread machine to mix and kneed then put in pan and baked in oven. No problem with the ingredients or measurements just did not feel the bread's flavor was to my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Plain City, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
I thought this was very good and rather easy. It was my first attempt at making homemade bread like this and it was a success. My husband and I both had 3 pieces the night I made it. I did not use all-purpose, but instead used 1 1/4 C of White Whole Wheat as substitute. I also used butter instead of the oil. (Trying to stay away from processed foods) Anyway, it all came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAMyers

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairfield, California, USA
Living In: Jeffersonville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
I have been baking bread off on on for a long time. This has to be the easiest recipe ever. I used mostly wheat flour; just used 1 c. of all purpose flour. Add 3 T. honey. This recipe is easy to play around with. I used fast rising yeast because it never fails and I don't have to proof it. I took the suggestion of one reviewer who weighed her flour. When measuring flour use spoon to put flour in measuring cup and level and then weight. I measured 4.4 oz. My bread was so light and airy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelley McEvoy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hayward, California, USA
Living In: Isabella, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
This was my first time making bread & it came out really good! I used all whole wheat flour & added 2 more tablespoons of honey. A nice basic recipe I will stick with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
Just "Okay".... I would've preferred it to be a bit sweeter- and I know I added more than 2 T of honey. Maybe a bit of sugar?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
This recipe is a great replacement for grocery store bread. It has a soft texture and a nice thin crust that doesn't get too hard for the little ones. I found the recipe a little bit bland which makes it a perfect vessel for those PB&J's that go in the lunches. Next time though I think I will add another tablespoon of honey and tsp of salt just to give it some umph.... I'll let you know how that turns out. Other than that my kids gobbled it up!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 1artsygal
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
This bread is worth taking the time to make! It is DELICIOUS! The first time I made the bread, I discovered I was out of whole wheat flour so I substituted it for bread flour. This change made an OUTSTANDING white bread. The next time I followed the recipe to a "t" (other than canola oil instead of vegetable oil). I put the bread in a round non-stick cake pan instead of a loaf pan. It turned out amazing! I would highly recommend using this recipe. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1artsygal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Towson, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States