Honey Wheat Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
Another cold, rainy/snowy day! Decided today was a homemade bread kind of day. Found this recipe and thought, what the heck, I'll give it a try. I increased the honey by 50% and added a cup of rolled oats in lieu of some of the white flour. This bread recipe is absolutely delicious! The bread has a wonderfully moist texture and crumb. It's light and not the traditional "heavy" type of wheat bread, but packed with flavor. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
This bread got such great reviews, I was very excited and optimistic. It was not great though. It was so very bland. It tastes like nothing. I'm disappointed. I followed the directions exactly. It rose nicely and baked in the time allowed. It just doesn't taste very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hilliard, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
I love this bread! Simply delicious. The only problem was the it took forever to rise (hence the 4 stars instead of 5); however, I stuck it in the oven at 225 degree F and it finally decided to start rising. Other than it is perfect. The bread is delicious and addictive. I just want more. I also love that it does not use shortening or lard. It was delicious. I highly HIGHLY recommend this recipe. Esp. to beginners. It is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Elizabeth Foyer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
This is the perfect recipe! I suck at bread making but for the first time I made good bread! Thank you sooo much...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jahnavi Jha

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
This was my first time ever making homemade bread and it was a success! Thank you so much for this easy recipe. The only thing I did differently was to do 3 cups whole wheat flour and 4 cups all-purpose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by youngwoman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Fabulous and easy. I followed the directions exactly as written, except substituted bread flour for all purpose. PERFECT. The recipe directions clearly state "work flour in gradually." I did not need all 5 cups so when I added gradually, I had about 1/2 cup left over. Dough was smooth and elastic, not sticky. My loaves took 25 min. to bake to a golden crust. Absolutely delicious even without butter. Will definitely make this recipe again. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
I bake a lot of bread & have found that the most reliable way to measure flour is by weight. 4.5 oz. = one cup. Using this method will keep you from adding more flour than the recipe intends. If you have no way of weighing the flour, lightly spoon the flour into the measuring cup & gently level without compressing the flour. Also, don't feel you must use all the flour the recipe calls for. Once it has a soft consistency & has lost the tacky feel, you've probably added all the flour you need.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
I had a similar recipe before and it was great. Lost it after we moved to Hong Kong. This one works the same, excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Excellent bread I exchanged bread flour for the plain flour and the texture is as good or better than store bought
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
Great bread. Easy to make and wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 244) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States