Honey Wheat Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
This is the perfect recipe! I suck at bread making but for the first time I made good bread! Thank you sooo much...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jahnavi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
This was my first time ever making homemade bread and it was a success! Thank you so much for this easy recipe. The only thing I did differently was to do 3 cups whole wheat flour and 4 cups all-purpose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by youngwoman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
Fabulous and easy. I followed the directions exactly as written, except substituted bread flour for all purpose. PERFECT. The recipe directions clearly state "work flour in gradually." I did not need all 5 cups so when I added gradually, I had about 1/2 cup left over. Dough was smooth and elastic, not sticky. My loaves took 25 min. to bake to a golden crust. Absolutely delicious even without butter. Will definitely make this recipe again. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2011
I bake a lot of bread & have found that the most reliable way to measure flour is by weight. 4.5 oz. = one cup. Using this method will keep you from adding more flour than the recipe intends. If you have no way of weighing the flour, lightly spoon the flour into the measuring cup & gently level without compressing the flour. Also, don't feel you must use all the flour the recipe calls for. Once it has a soft consistency & has lost the tacky feel, you've probably added all the flour you need.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
I had a similar recipe before and it was great. Lost it after we moved to Hong Kong. This one works the same, excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Excellent bread I exchanged bread flour for the plain flour and the texture is as good or better than store bought
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
Great bread. Easy to make and wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Don't let the ease of this recipe fool you - it's great! I used one less cup of flour and liked the moist texture. Lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Simple loaf made with on-hand staples everyone is sure to have. Has a great crumb and a very predictable behavior when rising. I make three of these loaves at a time to be efficient. One is sliced and the other two frozen until use. This bread has held up for a week bagged at room temp. This is definitely a staple in my home now. It makes awesome French toast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
WOW! This was excellent. Seriously, look no further if you would like a simple and delicious recipe. My girls loved it and I have picky eaters and my littlest has allergies so it was nice that this was egg and milk free. I noticed some people said they had a difficult time working all 7 cups of flour into the mix. First, you should be sure you are using a cup for measuring dry ingredients (not liquids!). Next if you are digging your cup into the flour you are doing it incorrectly! You should actually be using a scoop to sprinkle into the cup then level with a flat surface (like the back of a knife). This is crucial because digging into the flour with the cup may cause flour to get packed tightly (not what you want!) you will think you measured 7 cups and you really have 8 or 9! Hope that helps! If you get down to your last bit of flour and the dough seems a little dry don't be afraid to dampen your hands with a little water to work the last bit in, which is what I had to do. I thought the recipe was excellent and I would definitely recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 241) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States