Honey Wheat Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
i was excited to see how many stars this bread got so i tried it. i didn't like that it was called "wheat" when more than half the flour was white. so instead of the 5 c of all-purp i put in 2 c whole wheat. i also added 4 tsp of vital wheat gluten. so i started to add the 5 c flour mix and i alsmost had about 1 c left and i thought something wasn't right. i just assumed since the recipe didn't say that i might not need all of it, i made sure it all went in. wrong! it was so thick and tough. no way could it be kneaded. i tried to save it by letting it rise twice in the microwave with some boiled water and it helped it rise but it didn't double and barely rose a second time. the finished product smelled great and tasted good, thats why it got at least some stars. but the directiosn were not clear and i also added another 1/3 c of agave syrup. good thing my family likes their bread doughy! but i wont make this one next. my advice is to add wheat gluten with the 1st batch of flour and reduce the 5c to maybe 3 and then to add xtra sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
Fantastic- and healthy!!! My whole family loves it and they are always begging me to make it. It takes a while, but it is totally worth it! But for some reason, although the bread is fully risen and looks perfect when I put it in the oven, it collapses a little bit while it is being cooked. So the middle is just a little caved in, not too bad though. We still love it, this does not affect the taste!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Zanesville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
My favorite bread recipe~! I have been baking bread for 30 years and this is the best!!!! I increase whole wheat a little and add one half cup of cracked wheat....by far foolproof and stays moist! You won't be disappointed...just follow the simple directions! It is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I made this a couple of days ago and guess what? There's none left. That's the best compliment to my cooking I could have! I used white wheat flour and the loaves came out very light (looking and tasting) but was definitely wheat bread! Very, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
Delicious bread! Turned out perfect with these small adjustments: used bread flour instead of all-purpose; increased honey to 1/2 cup; added 1/2 cup quick oats with the flour; added 2 tsp vital wheat gluten to improve the rise and texture. (I always add one tsp vital wheat gluten per cup of whole wheat flour. Same goes for using all-purpose instead of bread flour - 1 tsp gluten per cup.) Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Made exactly by the recipe, this yields two big, beautiful loaves of bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
very delicious. I didnt add nearly as much honey as it called for which was probably a mistake, as I couldnt get all of the last cup of flower in. Honey is expensive in the ..dare i say it.."honey bear". I can't find it any where else right now. Easy to make. I cut the two loaves and before the second could rise I put it in freezer safely wrapped up, I'll take it out and let it defrost and proof before baking. I love that this makes "normal" loaves and not "dinner/petite" loaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
This bread is amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Spring City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
I just made this and I can't stop cutting another slice. I don't get it. It's incredibly soft and fluffy and amazing. WE HAVE A WINNER! My bf agrees it's probably one of the best bread recipes I've made. I skipped the veg oil and used EVOO instead. I can't wait to try this again to see if I just got lucky, or if it's really a stand-out recipe! Can't wait to eat it with my Tomato Dill Soup tomorrow for lunch!! **Notes: I didn't knead it long in my KA mixer, as it was too heavy and dense, so I kneaded by hand for another 5-8 minutes. I was surprised at how quickly it rose, but likely due to all the other baking/cooking going on. Sliced beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
This is the first yeast bread I have made in years and my family was very happy with the results! I used Rapid Rise yeast, so mixed the yeast with the flour, then heated the water, added the honey, then added to the flour mixture. Next time I think I will double the honey and omit the oil. The honey taste was a little faint for me. I think I could have also used a tad bit more flour to make a little less doughy, but that is one of the tricks to making a good yeast bread that comes from experience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 246) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States