Honey Wheat Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
My favorite bread recipe~! I have been baking bread for 30 years and this is the best!!!! I increase whole wheat a little and add one half cup of cracked wheat....by far foolproof and stays moist! You won't be disappointed...just follow the simple directions! It is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I made this a couple of days ago and guess what? There's none left. That's the best compliment to my cooking I could have! I used white wheat flour and the loaves came out very light (looking and tasting) but was definitely wheat bread! Very, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
Delicious bread! Turned out perfect with these small adjustments: used bread flour instead of all-purpose; increased honey to 1/2 cup; added 1/2 cup quick oats with the flour; added 2 tsp vital wheat gluten to improve the rise and texture. (I always add one tsp vital wheat gluten per cup of whole wheat flour. Same goes for using all-purpose instead of bread flour - 1 tsp gluten per cup.) Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Made exactly by the recipe, this yields two big, beautiful loaves of bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
very delicious. I didnt add nearly as much honey as it called for which was probably a mistake, as I couldnt get all of the last cup of flower in. Honey is expensive in the ..dare i say it.."honey bear". I can't find it any where else right now. Easy to make. I cut the two loaves and before the second could rise I put it in freezer safely wrapped up, I'll take it out and let it defrost and proof before baking. I love that this makes "normal" loaves and not "dinner/petite" loaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
This bread is amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Spring City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
I just made this and I can't stop cutting another slice. I don't get it. It's incredibly soft and fluffy and amazing. WE HAVE A WINNER! My bf agrees it's probably one of the best bread recipes I've made. I skipped the veg oil and used EVOO instead. I can't wait to try this again to see if I just got lucky, or if it's really a stand-out recipe! Can't wait to eat it with my Tomato Dill Soup tomorrow for lunch!! **Notes: I didn't knead it long in my KA mixer, as it was too heavy and dense, so I kneaded by hand for another 5-8 minutes. I was surprised at how quickly it rose, but likely due to all the other baking/cooking going on. Sliced beautifully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
This is the first yeast bread I have made in years and my family was very happy with the results! I used Rapid Rise yeast, so mixed the yeast with the flour, then heated the water, added the honey, then added to the flour mixture. Next time I think I will double the honey and omit the oil. The honey taste was a little faint for me. I think I could have also used a tad bit more flour to make a little less doughy, but that is one of the tricks to making a good yeast bread that comes from experience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
Made this bread and it is the best! Slices up great for toasr or sandwiches. My new go to recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Boone, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
First time EVER making bread. It came out awesome even tho I didn't have a loaf pan.. everyone ate every crumb.. I need to bake more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 244) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States