Honey Wheat Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
In a word: Amazing! The loaves were coming out of the oven just as my husband was coming in the door. The aroma brought the teenager out of her cave. 3/4 of the first loaf is gone. I typical freeze the second loaf but this bread doesn't stand a chance! If my husband, the non bread eater, who especially dislikes anything healthy, asks for second and thirds, the recipe is a keeper! For the Kitchen Aide users: I used stir to mix in the (1/2 cup) honey and oil. Speed 2 for the rest of the mixing/ kneading. Start to finish was approximately 8 minutes. Of course I didn't put 5 cups of white flour in it. The KA instructions specifically limit the amount you can safely use. So...I ended up with somewhere around 4 cups. The dough was half on, half off the dough hook. KA instructions for wheat bread advises that this is common and to look for a certain stickiness or tackiness. I baked it for 30 minutes. Brushed the tops with butter and let it sit in the glass pans for approximately 2 minutes before I released them to the cooling racks. The bread has a wonderful texture and crumb consistency. Thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
First time ever making wheat bread! This is a definite keeper, thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maili

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Morgan City, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
I tried this twice- the first time, it didn't rise. Second time it did, and I added a bit more honey as others suggested. I thought it turned out very dense and very bland. Sorry :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
Glad I found this-better by far than other recipe I tried. Great texture & flavor. I now measure by weight not volume. Much better result! The 1st time I almost burned up my Kitchen Aid, now it's perfect. I still do some hand kneading to finish. I use white whole wheat flour, in place of regular whole wheat & extra honey. My husband loves it! Thank you for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
This bread rises so well! I'm used to having some loaves turn out better than others, but I've made this four times now, and every single time it has risen beautifully with no problems at all. I do use a damp cloth and put it in a warm oven, but I do that with almost all my bread and don't have the same consistency. I did make on minor change: extra virgin olive oil instead of vegetable oil, which was a matter of personal taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Amsden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
i think I'll add more honey next time very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
I have been making this recipe for 3 months! I make at least once or twice a week. Everyone loves this bread! I no longer buy store bread. I have 3 sons 10,13,and 20 and they all love it! My husband has to have a loaf occasionally for work because everyone is jealous of his sandwiches on homemade bread! I have made this recipe just as written, I have left out the wheat flour, I have made it adding old fashioned oats; it all turns out great. I have used a bead machine, a regular mixer to start then finished kneading by hand, and I have used my Kitchen Aid; any way you do it it turns out delicious! This is really a delicious and versatile recipe! Thanks for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
An easy, great tasting bread. Even after a week it still tastes wonderful, which is perfect since it's just my husband and me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
i was excited to see how many stars this bread got so i tried it. i didn't like that it was called "wheat" when more than half the flour was white. so instead of the 5 c of all-purp i put in 2 c whole wheat. i also added 4 tsp of vital wheat gluten. so i started to add the 5 c flour mix and i alsmost had about 1 c left and i thought something wasn't right. i just assumed since the recipe didn't say that i might not need all of it, i made sure it all went in. wrong! it was so thick and tough. no way could it be kneaded. i tried to save it by letting it rise twice in the microwave with some boiled water and it helped it rise but it didn't double and barely rose a second time. the finished product smelled great and tasted good, thats why it got at least some stars. but the directiosn were not clear and i also added another 1/3 c of agave syrup. good thing my family likes their bread doughy! but i wont make this one next. my advice is to add wheat gluten with the 1st batch of flour and reduce the 5c to maybe 3 and then to add xtra sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
Fantastic- and healthy!!! My whole family loves it and they are always begging me to make it. It takes a while, but it is totally worth it! But for some reason, although the bread is fully risen and looks perfect when I put it in the oven, it collapses a little bit while it is being cooked. So the middle is just a little caved in, not too bad though. We still love it, this does not affect the taste!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Zanesville, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 254) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States