Honey Wheat Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2012
I tried this twice- the first time, it didn't rise. Second time it did, and I added a bit more honey as others suggested. I thought it turned out very dense and very bland. Sorry :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
Glad I found this-better by far than other recipe I tried. Great texture & flavor. I now measure by weight not volume. Much better result! The 1st time I almost burned up my Kitchen Aid, now it's perfect. I still do some hand kneading to finish. I use white whole wheat flour, in place of regular whole wheat & extra honey. My husband loves it! Thank you for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
This bread rises so well! I'm used to having some loaves turn out better than others, but I've made this four times now, and every single time it has risen beautifully with no problems at all. I do use a damp cloth and put it in a warm oven, but I do that with almost all my bread and don't have the same consistency. I did make on minor change: extra virgin olive oil instead of vegetable oil, which was a matter of personal taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
i think I'll add more honey next time very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
I have been making this recipe for 3 months! I make at least once or twice a week. Everyone loves this bread! I no longer buy store bread. I have 3 sons 10,13,and 20 and they all love it! My husband has to have a loaf occasionally for work because everyone is jealous of his sandwiches on homemade bread! I have made this recipe just as written, I have left out the wheat flour, I have made it adding old fashioned oats; it all turns out great. I have used a bead machine, a regular mixer to start then finished kneading by hand, and I have used my Kitchen Aid; any way you do it it turns out delicious! This is really a delicious and versatile recipe! Thanks for posting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
An easy, great tasting bread. Even after a week it still tastes wonderful, which is perfect since it's just my husband and me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
i was excited to see how many stars this bread got so i tried it. i didn't like that it was called "wheat" when more than half the flour was white. so instead of the 5 c of all-purp i put in 2 c whole wheat. i also added 4 tsp of vital wheat gluten. so i started to add the 5 c flour mix and i alsmost had about 1 c left and i thought something wasn't right. i just assumed since the recipe didn't say that i might not need all of it, i made sure it all went in. wrong! it was so thick and tough. no way could it be kneaded. i tried to save it by letting it rise twice in the microwave with some boiled water and it helped it rise but it didn't double and barely rose a second time. the finished product smelled great and tasted good, thats why it got at least some stars. but the directiosn were not clear and i also added another 1/3 c of agave syrup. good thing my family likes their bread doughy! but i wont make this one next. my advice is to add wheat gluten with the 1st batch of flour and reduce the 5c to maybe 3 and then to add xtra sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2012
Fantastic- and healthy!!! My whole family loves it and they are always begging me to make it. It takes a while, but it is totally worth it! But for some reason, although the bread is fully risen and looks perfect when I put it in the oven, it collapses a little bit while it is being cooked. So the middle is just a little caved in, not too bad though. We still love it, this does not affect the taste!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Zanesville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
My favorite bread recipe~! I have been baking bread for 30 years and this is the best!!!! I increase whole wheat a little and add one half cup of cracked wheat....by far foolproof and stays moist! You won't be disappointed...just follow the simple directions! It is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I made this a couple of days ago and guess what? There's none left. That's the best compliment to my cooking I could have! I used white wheat flour and the loaves came out very light (looking and tasting) but was definitely wheat bread! Very, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 242) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States