Honey Wheat Bread II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I make this bread often for my family. We love it. It's so simple to make, is economical and the dough is so easy to work with, I do cut the recipe in half because there's no way we'd be able to eat 2 loaves of bread before they go bad. I use one packet of yeast and use a 1/2 cup of honey. The best part is that it calls for no eggs, milk or butter so it's truly economical for those looking for an affordable bread recipe. The bread comes out so soft and sweet. This is one of my favorite bread recipes on AR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
It was amazing! The little bit of honey was just enough to be great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spencer!!!

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Success! I had no problems making this recipe, and I have a tough time getting even pizza dough to rise! Needless to say, I was going in with lower expectations. Dough doubled nicely, and I took the suggestion of the baker who used the microwave and a bowl of hot water as a proofing box of sorts. Baked for 30 minutes, and the result was a light, soft loaf with good crumb. I also doubled the honey, then added 3 TB of granulated sugar for good measure because I prefer a sweeter bread. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I cut the entire recipe, except honey, in half as I only wanted one loaf. I also only used all purpose flour, no wheat flour. I also put honey down the center of the loaf directly before baking it. I ran it down with a knife to bake into the top of the bread, giving it a dimple down the middle. I think the bread came out nice, but it took forever to rise. I put the oven on to 170 and let it cool down for a few minutes,then put the bread in there for an hour with a damp cloth over it to rise. I had to do that both times and it never did rise as much as desired. I only gave it three stars mostly because even half the recipe took about 4-5 hours to get a loaf of bread, not the two stated. We ended up going to the store to buy bread for dinner and this finish when we were ready to go to bed. If you make the entire recipe, I'd double the honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
honestly maybe it was just me but this bread didnt turn out all that great. it crumbles easily and kept falling apart. i thought it was just me. this was my 3rd time making this particular recipe and it was the same every time. ive never had a problem with any other bread i made before so i guess it just wasnt meant to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
I was so proud of myself when I made this. It was very easy to make and was so excited when it rose beautifully. Glad I doubled the honey. Next time, i would add a little more salt in it. One thing for sure, I won't be buying any more bread from now on :D Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DemonicMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
Loved this recipe i added a little less flour and more wheat flour due to i love wheat so much and it turned out great. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
For all you newbie bread bakers: the proportions on this recipe are all wrong. You can't put in 7 freaking' cups of flour and 2 cups of water and have it turn out. It needs to be 3 1/2 cups of water. (Also, the picture at the top is of bread that was allowed to over-rise. My husband used to be a commercial baker -- he knows his stuff.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
I tried this recipe and it seemed as though 2 cups of water is not enough. I was not able to add the full amount of flour. Other than that, this is a good, simple recipe. I will definitely make it again but with more water to begin. This bread had a good flavor and is very simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Beebe, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2013
Not the greatest. Mine barely moved on the 2nd rise (yeast proofed fine) and I kept giving it time to rise until I finally did the "imprint test" and it said it was ready despite looking pretty much the same height as when it went in. I knew it wouldn't rise much cooking. It came out with a good consistency, but it was small of course, and pretty bland, though I followed the suggestions of increasing the honey. I don't know what I was expecting with taste, maybe I'm an artisan bread snob? I was trying to find a simple wheat bread for my kids to substitute for store-bought. I guess this would be it, but the issues with rising - I've never had a bread not rise so I'm a bit perplexed. I'll give it another try it again before writing it off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 253) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States