Honey Wheat Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2006
My family loves this bread! I customized it for my bread machine to make one loaf (6 oz. of evaporated milk, 2 tbsp. water, 2 tbsp. 2 tbsp. butter, 2 tbsp. honey, 1 tsp. salt, 1 cup whole wheat flour, 1 1/2 cups bread flour, 2 tsp. bread machine yeast). I also added 3 tbsp. of cracked wheat for extra texture. Delicious !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
309 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2003
Delicious! Made this with the KitchenAid and it was a snap (kneeded on "2" with the bread hook for about 5 minutes). This bread took a long time to rise at first so I turned the oven on at 400 degrees for one minute, turned it off and put the bread in the oven. It rose very quickly. Did the same for the second rise. This bread is easy to make and delicious. I will make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
275 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2002
This is the best wheat bread recipe I have ever tried. I made it "as is" with wonderful results. The second time I increased the honey to 1/2 cup, increased the yeast to 3 tsp, and added 1/2 cup oats, 1/4 cup wheat germ, 1/4 cup milled flax seed and 1/2 cup sunflower seeds. My husband raved over this, my 20 m.o. daughter said "yummy", and I smiled knowing how healthy it is for them. Thanks for such a delicious and adaptable recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
225 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2001
Ever since I started making bread by hand, I've tried a lot of recipes. I tried Kristin's honey wheat bread and was very, very impressed at the flavor and texture of the loaves her recipe produces. I love this recipe so much that I looked for more by her, and found the equally good Blue Ribbon White Bread recipe. Now, I use both Kristin's recipes for all my daily loaves. I do recommend using bread flour instead of all-purpose. It works much better for homemade loaves, and greatly improves the bread, especially in texture. Also, I now use melted butter instead of shortening after I fortuitously ran out of Crisco one day and had to substitute. Thanks for both recipes, Kristin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
155 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2003
First of all, I have to admit, I'm really not a fan of homemade bread. The recipes I have made in the past have all resulted in a dense, dry, tasteless loaf of bread...until now! This is by far the BEST bread I have ever made. I comes out soft and moist and full of flavor. I now make this bread about every other day. And, the best part is that it can be made in the bread machine!!!!! All I had to do was to add all the ingredients according to manufacturer's directions and set it on the dough cycle. When cycle is complete, remove dough and place in a buttered loaf pan. Cover with a damp dishtowel and let rise for 1 hour. Then bake according to the directions. Comes out PERFECT every time!! This one is hands down a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNDA L.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carrollton, Texas, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2002
" WOW"...What an AWSOME Bread Recipe!!!!!...My whole Family Loves It!. It was a VERY EASY recipie to make, and the result is Fantastic!! I did Double the Yeast, and I added about Two Tablespoon's More Honey But other than that, I stayed with the recipie...It seems as if the smell of fresh baked Bread, will be a common scent in my Kitchen from now on!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2002
I had to add more flour than it calls for, and it makes two medium loafs. I do not use a pan, but make rustic loafs out if it and the crust is so good. I also add some 7-grain cereal from the bulk section of the health food store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2002
Tracey, it definetly sounds like you need to be kneading longer. I used to have the same problem and was surprised at how long you really need to knead! I do it in my Kitchenaid mixer for approx 7 minutes if that helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2002
Very nice bread. It's light and moist and easy to make. I have to leave my loaves in the oven a bit longer than recommended to ensure that the middle isn't doughy. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nacmacfeagle
Home Town: Hantsport, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Dauphin, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
For those who have said the loaf is too dense or didn't rise well, please make sure you are using fresh bread flour and active yeast (quick rise is preferred for this recipe) in warm, not hot water. Also knead the bread until elastic (about 8 minutes in a Kitchenaid or 10 by hand). When elastic, it will be glossy and the bubbles on the surface will stretch and break. Roll and shape the loaf tightly to eliminate a center air pocket. Let rise in a warm and moist, not hot area before baking. When done, cool on a rack. Finally, do not cut the loaf until cooled. This should give you a less dense texture. Continue experimenting - bread making is an art that changes daily due to moisture content in the air and flour. You learn it through trial and error. Enjoy! Kristin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONESMALLANGEL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Park City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 564) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States