Honey Wheat Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
Just love this bread. So do my husband, 3 year old son and 1 year old daughter. Easy to make and delicious every time. I use 3 teaspoons of yeast to make sure it rises enough. Have to use our electric knife to cut it because no one can wait for it to cool!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tmar1986
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
I have never made bread from scratch before and honestly, this bread was INCREDIBLE and SO easy for a beginner. I did go out and buy a thermometer so that I could make sure the temperature of the water was correct so the yeast wouldn't die. I also tried adding oatmeal on top before baking, which made it look even better, but unfortunately it didn't stick, so I will need to work on that. I may increase the honey a bit next time to make the bread a tad sweeter. Also, I did not use Rapid Rise Yeast. I used just the standard Active Dry yeast since the way the recipe is written, it seems that is what the writer meant. Rapid Rise apparently is just added directly to the dry ingredients according to the package? But that's only what I read. I will DEFINITELY be making this bread again! And it tastes WONDERFUL with Peter Pan Crunchy Honey Peanut Butter on it! I highly recommend this recipe for any beginners out there like me! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tmar1986

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
I've been searching for a good wheat bread recipe. This is it!! The first time, it came out perfectly. I'm going to try a little more wheat flour this time, just because I'm trying to cut out white flour. Either way, this is my go to bread recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicoli

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
Wonderful. Everyone loves it! I would like to find out to make it less crumbly however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bitburg, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany
Living In: Ludington, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
YUM! What a perfect wheat bread. I added more wheat flour and ground flax seed. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lillmuffin

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
I have made this 3 times now. This has become my bread recipe. I do as other reviewers suggested and double the yeast, use butter instead of shortening, and use 1/3 cup honey rather than only 1/4 cup. I never have whole wheat flour so I use regular all purpose flour in place of wheat flour. Awesome bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
Delicious bread! I had to make a couple substitutions: fresh milk and general purpose flour, but the bread still turned out excellent (just took a bit longer to rise). This recipe also works well as free form artisan loafs baked on baking stone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tatjana Salcedo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KJN
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Bread was wonderful! very moist. I did use butter in place of the shortening. Still came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KJN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
This is awesome bread. It's easy to make and taste great. Will be my main bread for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
So yummy makes really soft wheat bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by milo1898

Displaying results 81-90 (of 571) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States