Honey Wheat Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
My wife is an excellent cook. She protects her kitchen, like it's a Momma Only area. I applied for the appropriate pass and clearance to bake this bread and it paid off big time! We both love it! Momma said it has 'the YUM factor". That is truly high praise. If you're going to go through the time and effort to make bread, it has to be better than what you could simply go to the store and buy. This bread meets and exceeds that standard. There's nothing more wholesome and satisfying than home made bread. The aroma is wonderful and it's pretty to look at too! Oh, I didn't get a full time kitchen pass though. Momma says the bread is so good, that we both will grow to the size of a compact car if it's available all the time. But, she did ASK me to make more on Christmas Eve. She wants to serve it to family with Christmas dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Macedonia, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
taste was good but underbaked, it is hard to tell when it was done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bountiful, Utah, USA
Living In: Laie, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
Just love this bread. So do my husband, 3 year old son and 1 year old daughter. Easy to make and delicious every time. I use 3 teaspoons of yeast to make sure it rises enough. Have to use our electric knife to cut it because no one can wait for it to cool!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tmar1986
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
I have never made bread from scratch before and honestly, this bread was INCREDIBLE and SO easy for a beginner. I did go out and buy a thermometer so that I could make sure the temperature of the water was correct so the yeast wouldn't die. I also tried adding oatmeal on top before baking, which made it look even better, but unfortunately it didn't stick, so I will need to work on that. I may increase the honey a bit next time to make the bread a tad sweeter. Also, I did not use Rapid Rise Yeast. I used just the standard Active Dry yeast since the way the recipe is written, it seems that is what the writer meant. Rapid Rise apparently is just added directly to the dry ingredients according to the package? But that's only what I read. I will DEFINITELY be making this bread again! And it tastes WONDERFUL with Peter Pan Crunchy Honey Peanut Butter on it! I highly recommend this recipe for any beginners out there like me! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tmar1986

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
I've been searching for a good wheat bread recipe. This is it!! The first time, it came out perfectly. I'm going to try a little more wheat flour this time, just because I'm trying to cut out white flour. Either way, this is my go to bread recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicoli

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
Wonderful. Everyone loves it! I would like to find out to make it less crumbly however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bitburg, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany
Living In: Ludington, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
YUM! What a perfect wheat bread. I added more wheat flour and ground flax seed. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lillmuffin

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
I have made this 3 times now. This has become my bread recipe. I do as other reviewers suggested and double the yeast, use butter instead of shortening, and use 1/3 cup honey rather than only 1/4 cup. I never have whole wheat flour so I use regular all purpose flour in place of wheat flour. Awesome bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
Delicious bread! I had to make a couple substitutions: fresh milk and general purpose flour, but the bread still turned out excellent (just took a bit longer to rise). This recipe also works well as free form artisan loafs baked on baking stone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KJN
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Bread was wonderful! very moist. I did use butter in place of the shortening. Still came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KJN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 553) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States