Honey Wheat Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: May 31, 2010
I just tried to make this bread. I followed the recipe exactly and the dough wouldn't rise! I don't understand what I did wrong! Any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2010
I made this recipe in my KitchenAid mixer with excellent results. The loaves had a great taste and texture. This is definately one of my favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Geneva, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
Absolutely wonderful! I used 3 cups of whole wheat flour and 2 cups of bread flour and forgot to put the pan of water in the oven. A super soft bread. Perfect for sandwiches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~*Lori*~*

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Georgia, USA
Living In: Hamilton, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
The Best Bread Ever!!!! I didn't read the recipe properly before I started, so I had to alter it a bit...I mixed all the flour and salt together before realizing the whole wheat flower goes in first and sits with the yeast for 15 minutes...oops!!:) So I proofed the yeast first, then added the flour mixture all together and proceeded without waiting another 15 minutes...also, I added 1/2 molasses, and 1 cup of milled flax seeds. The results are amazing! awesome texture, light and soft, crust is soft and delicious. The flax definitetly adds a bit of a nutty flavor, it is wonderful, especially for toast in the morning! I can't say enough about this bread!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gourmetshand

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Canmore, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
I have made this several times and really am grateful to have found a non-bread machine bread recipe. I use butter instead of shortening and whole milk instead of half-n-half. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
This bread is absolutely delicious! I had trouble getting it to rise, but the amount of oven spring was amazing. It came out perfect. So don't be afraid if it does not rise as much as you think it should, it will most likely spring up in the oven. I might however, recommend halving the amount of salt in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2010
This bread has become a hit not only in my home, but in my firends' homes! I have changed it a little bit. To get sweeter wheat bread, I use 1/4 cup condesned milk diluted in 120z of water (both water and milk should equal 12oz), since I grind my own wheat (Prairie Gold), I use four cups of wheat and one cup of bread flour. Instead of shortening, I use 1/4 cup of oilve oil. Simply delicious!! I get nothing but praise when I bake this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bedford Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
2 small, perfect loaves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emarika

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
This was the first itme I ever made yeast bread at home, and it was fantastic! I planned to save the second loaf for dinner the following evening and had to guard is closely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
I made this in my bread machine, super easy and very delicious. My family loves this bread it makes 2 large loaves and they disappear very quickly. I think putting the pan of water in the bottom of the oven helps add moisture to the bread as it bakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: North Olmsted, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 556) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States