Honey Wheat Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
DELICIOUS! Did 1/2 sugar & 1/2 honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ericksonpad

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
This was good honey wheat bread, but I wish it would have had a more substantial crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beamgal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washougal, Washington, USA
Living In: Camas, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
I had the same problem as someone else's review with the bread not rising and still doughy in the middle? Any suggestions for this problem. Right now it is only good to slather butter on and eat, I was hoping for good sandwich bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paddyrode
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
It's easy to understand why this is a 5 start recipe & a blue ribbon winner. The bread was awesome!! Per my brother-in-law who is the "official bread maker" in our family (their oven went out, so I tried my hand for Thanksgiving)--the flavor was excellent with a superb texture. He said he very seldom likes wheat breads--so that's the ultimate compliment. The recipe & directions get kudos too--I do a lot of baking, but my last bread making attempt was years ago & a total disaster! This turned out so well that I'm ready to try more--thanks for a delicious recipe w/ fantastic instructions for the inexperienced!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
We use 1/2 cup of honey. Great for sandwiches (if we can stop ourselves from eating it all right out the oven...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
This bread is *wonderful.* I love to bake but have never had much luck with bread. The crust is always too thick and hard and the inside is gummy. This bread is different. It tastes like it came from a bakery. The crust is soft and chewy, and the inside is light and fluffy, even though it's a wheat loaf. I made the following changes: *double the yeast and added 1/4 c. brown sugar with the honey *used half butter and half margarine for shortening *added 1/4 c. ground flax seeds & 1/4 c. wheat bran *added 1/4 c. oats to dough and scattered oats on top of loaves before baking. Definitely will be using this over and over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
This bread is AMAZING! Both loaves were gone in 2 days! It was so soft and light with the just the right touch of sweetness. Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
I followed the bread machine suggestion. Used whole wheat bread flour and regular unbleached flour and this came out great. Also added several tablespoons of milllet, ground flax and sunflower seeds. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Fantastic. Cooked VERY Fast so be sure to pay close attention. I added extra honey and sifted the flour. Cooked them on a flat pan and they came out beautiful. I'm saving the second loaf for a friend and had to hide it because my mom threatened to eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alastriel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
I love love love this bread...I've done it just as the recipe reads, and got good results. However, I live at mile high altitude and increase the temp of the water just slightly. I increase the honey by a couple of Tablespoons and use an extra packet of yeast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 558) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States