Honey Wheat Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
This bread is delicious. I have made it a few times now and gotten the best results with these changes: I doubled the recipe, using 10 cups freshly milled flour, used 3 tsp yeast, buttter instead of shortening, skim milk instead of evaporated. I added a tsp of gluten, and added the salt during kneading. I also added flax seed & ground flax during kneading. This made two large loaves. I may not have baked it long enough (40 min), so may need to increase the baking time if I find it not done in the middle. Otherwise, turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
I followed the modified directions for the bread maker. It came out fabulous! I'm going to add sunflower seeds next time for some texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marysville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
The bread is awesome! The only thing I change is that I use butter instead of the shortening. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Farmington, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
I have baked bread for years and was bored with my old recipe. I tried this one and now my family thinks that they are too good to eat bought bread anymore! It is the best bread I have ever made! It has a wonderful flavor and texture. Slices great for sandwiches and toast! It would be great for beginning bread bakers to try. I added more honey because I like a sweeter bread and added some time on both of the rises. The first time I made the bread by hand and the second time I used my Kitchen Aid Stand mixer with bread hook. Both batches turned out great. You do not need a bread machine or stand mixer for this bread to turn out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
After reading most of these review, I knew I had to try this recipe. Oh, my! So Good! I am an experienced bread maker and have made some lovely loaves over the years, but this is the tastiest bread I have ever made. I have been looking for bread that has this flavor for a long time, and this is it! *Note, I put all the ingredients in my bread machine on the dough cycle. Then put in loaf pans and rise in the oven on my bread proof oven cycle. I also doubled up on the honey, which most people recommend. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
Wow- I can't believe it. This recipe is outstanding- you could open a bakery and be proud to serve this! I used the bread machine to mix it, but did the second rise and bake in a 9x5" loaf pan. Here are some changes I made- used only half the recipe, added 1 T extra of honey, and 2 1/2 T of vital wheat gluten. I poured water, yeast, sugar, milk and let the yeast proof. I added the rest and let the machine do the rest. My husband looked at it and went "Oh no- did you make this in the bread machine?" (we've had super doughy, heavy breads when I bake the bread in there), but he really loved it after he tasted it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coqui

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
I have made this recipe twice and it is phenomenal!! The loaf bakes up high and it is very soft and tasty. I have baked this as loaves as well as rolls and it was a hit both ways. Even my picky daughter who usually only eats white bread loved this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lynda k

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
Wow! I see why everyone has rated this so highly. The dough goes together easily (I did it manually, using my Danish dough whisk). The only things I did different were to use regular yeast because that's what I always use, and I forgot to put the water bath in. The flavor is wonderful. My husband was also very impressed. This bread will be in my regular line-up of bread recipes. Thanks, Kristin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cranford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
Awesome Sandwich Bread! I changed it a little- Used melted butter instead of shortening, added an extra cup of white flour, and doubled the honey quantity. I'm not an expert bread baker by any means, and this turned out perfect. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
Awesome bread recipe! The best bread I have made so far! I followed the directions exactly and it turned out fantastic. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 570) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States