Honey Wheat Bread I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Jenny Aleman
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
The texture of the bread was nice but the flavor it was something that we didn't enjoy. Sorry to say it because we had great expectations for this recipe as the ingredients are quite good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny Aleman

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2014
It is really easy and taste great ! After reviewing others, I did two changes. One is to increase to 3 teaspoon yeast and 1/2 cup honey, other than that I stick with receipt. It turn out is really nice . I enjoy it .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hueilan chen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2014
My family loved this! My kids ate a loaf and a half by themselves. I will definitely be making bread instead of buying it at the store from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blender Woman
Reviewed: May 29, 2014
This bread was great! I thought it was going to be too sweet because of the honey, but it wasn't. I was concerned at first, because I had to add 1 cup extra bread flour before the kneading was done. That may have also helped with it not being too sweet. Mine was definitely more dense than the photo, but it was still soft also. I gave the rise time 30 minutes extra on both the bowl and pan rise. I used my Kitchen Aid Mixer to mix and knead everything. I did about 5 minutes on the kneading. Only other real change I made was using melted butter as opposed to the shortening and using Gold Medal flour white (whole wheat), as opposed to the traditional darker tinted and stronger tasting classic whole wheat. I also used 2% low fat evaporated milk and it did not seem to be a problem. I let it rise in a bowl I rubbed with a little corn oil and just sprayed the baking pans lightly with PAM. I did butter the top crusts both times, as suggested, and it gave it a buttery crispiness to the crust. ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Great taste but a comment on the directions. I'm a newby bread baker so specific directions are appreciated. Number 1 says to mix the yeast w sugar and warm water. I made the recipe the first time but didn't wait until the yeast had become activated - about 10 minutes after putting it w the water and sugar. Consequently, the dough didn't rise much at all. I was in a bakery and asked where I'd gone wrong and he explained the activation process. So give your yeast, water and sugar a good 10 minutes to get foamy and bubbly. Also, the rise times seem short. I'm making this recipe again today - because even tho the first batch didn't rise, it was delicious - and the rises worked better at one hour each - maybe even a little longer. Otherwise this us an easy mix and a great flavor. And now that the loaves are well above the tops of the baking pan, the consistently should be better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
OH MY... this produced an amazing couple of loaves of bread. Light, crispy outside with a fluffy inside. I used melted butter for the shortening. I doubled the yeast as per a few other reviewers. I needed to add 1/2 cup more flour. I used the dough hook on my mixer and kneaded the bread on level 2 for 10 minutes. I turned the oven to 200 degrees for a few minutes and let the dough rise in the oven with a damp tea towel over top. It took only about 20 minutes for the first rise and 20 minutes for the 2nd rise. Really, really good. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by maya
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
its an easy simple recipe didnt take much time i knead it by hand took 10 min and was wonderful just let your yeast for 10 minutes maybe more till you see the big foamy on the surface. so tasty and will do it again for sure :) p.s. i added 1/2 cup flour extra
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
very tasty and moist. it took a long time to rise but well worth the wait. definitely making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I followed this recipe as written. Best wheat bread I have made so far. It is soft and has a great texture. The dough was slow to rise, which may be because the house was a little cold. In the future, I will heat the milk to 110 degrees as well - I think that will help. I mixed and kneaded this by hand and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
A couple things I would like to say towards the negative posts: For one, if it isn't rising you need to (1)See if you are using QUICK or RAPID Rise Yeast as the recipe requested or just Active Dry. I use Active Dry...Give it some time. Patience is a virtue. (2) If it is "bland" to you, maybe try buying a loaf of honey wheat bread. My husband and I used to buy loafed honey wheat bread. It doesn't taste JUST LIKE HONEY but it has a sweet taste. This is much better tasting than store-bought. I add water and let mine rise extra long for those who say it is dense. I found it dense the first time I made it as well. A lot of things factor in here like what kind of flour you are using, how much water, bottled or highly chlorinated water, etc. Play with the recipe. That is what makes a wonderful cook :). Thank you, Kristin! I enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 558) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States