Honey Walnut Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2011
I candied the walnuts differently- Lightly toasted them, the melted margarine and dissolved a couple of tablespoons of brown sugar. Let it cook down to thicken, hence coating the nuts then let it 'dry' on a chopping board (I chose to chop the walnuts slightly to evenly distribute). I did not find mochiko at the regular grocery stores nearby (will look for it if and when I hit the Asian markets) so I used a combination of cornstarch and flour which worked well. The coating is bland, but that is to showcase the sauce... You can easily season it to your liking but be wary of overpowering the sauce. To make the sauce I mixed 2 tablespoons each SC milk & honey and roughly 3 heaping tablespoons of mayo. I would make 1.5 times the sauce next time to coat the same amount of shrimp as it was barely enough. I thought the dish was good as-is though I would season the shrimp batter a little next time but the BF thought this was bordering too sweet... Probably because of the nuts, but he still enjoyed it. We ate it over rice with spring rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
Made this dish last week, very easy to make, I would def make again, next time i would prob use 3 egg whites instead of 4... My husband loved it quote "Its like a party in my mouth" hahaha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pomona, California, USA
Living In: Watertown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
very good.....i used corn starch instead worked fine.........only thing is that topping is very very sweet so careful..first time I made it i didnt include chives, what a mistake! second time added chives and it was great!!! will continue making.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nisse05

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
I made this last night for the first time. It was pretty good, but a tad too sweet for me. I will for sure be making this again, however, I will probably use half the condensed milk next time, if at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
Really delicious! This is one of my favorite entrees at Chinese restaurants and this recipe is just as good as anything I would buy. Thanks Celia for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Make the sauce a day ahead of time, the night I made this for dinner it was okay but nothing special, after letting the flavors meld overnight the leftovers had me licking my plate. I don't recommend making a cornstarch batter, use the special flour or a tempura if you need to substitute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gillette, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
These are absolutely AWESOME!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
This was a party in my mouth! The family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
This is one of my husband's favorite recipes. Thank you so much for sharing. I use only 3 egg whites since the 4th egg white seems to make the batter taste too eggy. Also, I boil the walnuts with brown sugar instead of white sugar with a tablespoon of water. This way the brown sugar sticks to the walnuts and adds a little more of a caramelized appeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
This is every bit as good as PF Changs!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATHY SINK

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 313) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Szechwan Shrimp

See how to make a quick, healthy, spicy shrimp dinner.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States