Honey Walnut Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by Foodie Family
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
jolly good,but a little to sweet for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie Family

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
The sauce tasted perfect but it was thick and pasty and hard to "toss" with the shrimp. I wish it had the consistency to "drizzle" over the shrimp and then toss it. I would make twice as much sauce next time for 1 lb. of shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
this is one of my favorite dishes when i go for chinese and this recipe is right on!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
I used corn starch instead of the rice flour as some suggested since I couldn't find it, I also dipped the shrimp in the egg whites first then covered with the corn starch and it worked perfectly, the shrimp came out with a nice crunchy coating. However, the sauce is deathly sweet and then to add the sugar coated walnuts on top was just too much for me, I cut the sweetness with some soy sauce but something was still off my husband said it reminded him of candy corn with shrimp needless to say I won't be making this again, and now what to do with a can of sweetend condensend milk with a tablespoon missing???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bamsmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
OMG, ive never cooked anything before in my life. this was the very first dish that i made and it came out amazing! just like at the restaurants if not BETTER! i followed the instructions word for word. the batter could have been a bit thicker, i guess i just need a bit more starch. shocked the hell out of my family too! haha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
This recipe was decent. The batter was way to eggy, and wouldn't adhere to the shrimp...a lot of it came off during frying and didn't reach that golden color (as pictured) without overcooking the shrimp. Perhaps dredging the shrimp in rice flour before battering would help, but not sure what to do to make the batter itself less eggy. The sauce calls for way to much honey. I recommend decreasing the honey by half. Save yourself some time and use purchased glazed walnuts. Some reviewers stated that they couldn't find Mochico rice flour. Is is available in Asian markets, or ion most major grocery stores, usually in the "ethnic foods" section. It comes in a small, white box (about the size of a Mac N Cheese box.) Also stated in many reviews is that the battered shrimp was bland, Yes, but the sauce compensates for that. Note that the sauce is sweet and this dish should be served with something to counter-balance that. I served it atop a bed of cabbage...actually, I used a bag of the pre-shredded coleslaw mix (from the produce section.) Overall, good recipe, but needs some tweaking. If anyone has any suggestion as to how to make the batter any better, please share!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
just cooked this last night.. and the sauce was spot on with the one we eat at the restaurant.. although the coating was different but, nonetheless still tasty.. did this without the walnuts but, i added some shredded cabbage under the shrimp..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
Very Very Good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lee Gilpatrick

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
wonderful recipe! nuff said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
This was pretty darn good! I took a couple of the reviewer's tips and did the following: Used about half the mayo and a little more condensed milk. Also doubled the sauce. And used cornstarch instead of the mochiko called for. Will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 305) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Szechwan Shrimp

See how to make a quick, healthy, spicy shrimp dinner.

How to Make Kung Pao Shrimp

Learn how to make this quick, spicy shrimp appetizer on the grill.

Japanese-Style Deep Fried Shrimp

See how to make crispy-crunchy panko-coated fried shrimp.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States