Honey Walnut Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2011
This is one of my husband's favorite recipes. Thank you so much for sharing. I use only 3 egg whites since the 4th egg white seems to make the batter taste too eggy. Also, I boil the walnuts with brown sugar instead of white sugar with a tablespoon of water. This way the brown sugar sticks to the walnuts and adds a little more of a caramelized appeal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
This is every bit as good as PF Changs!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KATHY SINK

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
sooo delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
The question of authenticity is difficult because of regional variations. I would say that this recipe is not what I would prefer. It's too greasy and too sweet. My preferences run toward light, flavorful, subtleties, and this dish, as listed, does not fulfill that requirement. A far better method for treating shrimp in this manner is the standard wash of the walnuts in 1 cup of water and 1/3 cup of sugar. Forget the egg white batter--it brings the wrong texture to this dish. Instead, a very light egg wash with corn starch and panko is spot on, and the dip should be made minus the condensed milk with a very small touch of pressed garlic, so that you have what is essentially a very lightly touched aioli sauce with a honey sweetened linger on the palate. That's the way you improve on what has been lost in translation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
I love, love, love this recipe!! My boyfriend says it's just as good as the restaurant version. It's soo easy to make and just super tasty!! I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
my husband and i loved this! we didn't think it was too sweet,as others had mentioned. the mixture was perfect for just one pound of shrimp! bought regular rice flour at the 99 Ranch Market for only 99cents :) and for people complaining about what to do with a can (minus a tbs) of condensed milk ... there are a thousand recipes you can use it (its not going to make or break a recipe if you're short 1 tbs!) i used the rest for the Mounds Bar Recipe ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anah Pham

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
Very tasty. Kind of time consuming, but maybe I just went about it strangely. My suggestions- deep fry the walnuts at the end for just a few minutes to give them some crunch. Make the sauce before you start frying- the shrimps don't fry that long. To coat all the shrimp easily, dump them into the mix, mix them in with your hand, and pull them out, shake a little, and drop into oil. Doing them one at a time was killing my soul. I served this in bowls individually and let people dish the sauce as they wanted- delicious! (I also used the mochiko- it gave it a wonderful flavor that I think cornstarch wouldn't.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
Just what I wanted! Took others' advice and first dipped the shrimp in the egg white, then tossed it in the rice flour before frying. Kept the oil really hot so it browned quickly and stayed crispy. I doubled the sauce recipe but it was really too much. Next time - since I know there will be a next time! - I'll stick with the amount called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Better for weekend cooking than weeknight cooking. The shrimp tasted like yummy caramel popcorn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
this was excelent like other reviewers i achanged things a bitlike an extra tblsp of honet and sweetened milk better than the resteraunts out here mochiko makes the difference
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 315) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Szechwan Shrimp

See how to make a quick, healthy, spicy shrimp dinner.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States