Honey Walnut Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
Very tasty. Kind of time consuming, but maybe I just went about it strangely. My suggestions- deep fry the walnuts at the end for just a few minutes to give them some crunch. Make the sauce before you start frying- the shrimps don't fry that long. To coat all the shrimp easily, dump them into the mix, mix them in with your hand, and pull them out, shake a little, and drop into oil. Doing them one at a time was killing my soul. I served this in bowls individually and let people dish the sauce as they wanted- delicious! (I also used the mochiko- it gave it a wonderful flavor that I think cornstarch wouldn't.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
Just what I wanted! Took others' advice and first dipped the shrimp in the egg white, then tossed it in the rice flour before frying. Kept the oil really hot so it browned quickly and stayed crispy. I doubled the sauce recipe but it was really too much. Next time - since I know there will be a next time! - I'll stick with the amount called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2011
Better for weekend cooking than weeknight cooking. The shrimp tasted like yummy caramel popcorn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
this was excelent like other reviewers i achanged things a bitlike an extra tblsp of honet and sweetened milk better than the resteraunts out here mochiko makes the difference
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Foodie Family
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
jolly good,but a little to sweet for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodie Family

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
The sauce tasted perfect but it was thick and pasty and hard to "toss" with the shrimp. I wish it had the consistency to "drizzle" over the shrimp and then toss it. I would make twice as much sauce next time for 1 lb. of shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
this is one of my favorite dishes when i go for chinese and this recipe is right on!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
I used corn starch instead of the rice flour as some suggested since I couldn't find it, I also dipped the shrimp in the egg whites first then covered with the corn starch and it worked perfectly, the shrimp came out with a nice crunchy coating. However, the sauce is deathly sweet and then to add the sugar coated walnuts on top was just too much for me, I cut the sweetness with some soy sauce but something was still off my husband said it reminded him of candy corn with shrimp needless to say I won't be making this again, and now what to do with a can of sweetend condensend milk with a tablespoon missing???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bamsmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
OMG, ive never cooked anything before in my life. this was the very first dish that i made and it came out amazing! just like at the restaurants if not BETTER! i followed the instructions word for word. the batter could have been a bit thicker, i guess i just need a bit more starch. shocked the hell out of my family too! haha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
This recipe was decent. The batter was way to eggy, and wouldn't adhere to the shrimp...a lot of it came off during frying and didn't reach that golden color (as pictured) without overcooking the shrimp. Perhaps dredging the shrimp in rice flour before battering would help, but not sure what to do to make the batter itself less eggy. The sauce calls for way to much honey. I recommend decreasing the honey by half. Save yourself some time and use purchased glazed walnuts. Some reviewers stated that they couldn't find Mochico rice flour. Is is available in Asian markets, or ion most major grocery stores, usually in the "ethnic foods" section. It comes in a small, white box (about the size of a Mac N Cheese box.) Also stated in many reviews is that the battered shrimp was bland, Yes, but the sauce compensates for that. Note that the sauce is sweet and this dish should be served with something to counter-balance that. I served it atop a bed of cabbage...actually, I used a bag of the pre-shredded coleslaw mix (from the produce section.) Overall, good recipe, but needs some tweaking. If anyone has any suggestion as to how to make the batter any better, please share!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 309) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Szechwan Shrimp

See how to make a quick, healthy, spicy shrimp dinner.

How to Make Simple Garlic Shrimp

Watch as Chef John reveals the secrets to making perfect garlic shrimp.

How to Make Kung Pao Shrimp

Learn how to make this quick, spicy shrimp appetizer on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States