Honey Walnut Shrimp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2015
My kids love Panda Express's Honey Walnut Shrimp, so I knew I had to try this recipe to see if I could make it even better at home. I think this was BETTER! I didn't have any of the mochiko, so I used corn starch, as recommended by other reviewers. It worked well, I think I just need to get the consistency right, as it was a bit too "batter-y". I will try this with the mochiko next time. Overall, this is one that I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2015
Loved it! My bf and I love this at a local Chinese restaurant and he'd been wanting me to try to make it for awhile. This was the perfect recipe, with a few small changes. I didn't have mochiko so I used regular rice flour. However, I used 3 egg whites instead of four, whipped until nice and foamy. Then, I added the rice flour (didn't measure, just stirred until a thick paste). Because I love the texture at our fav restaurant, I wanted a sort of tempura batter, so I also added Sprite...again, I didn't measure, just poured and blended until it had about the consistency of elmer's glue. I also seasoned my shrimp. The last tweak I did was to the walnuts. I boiled water and sugar, but also added about a teaspoon of honey. I threw in the walnuts and let them cook until the sugar water had cooked down to a syrup. I let the walnuts cool on wax paper, and after cooking the shrimp, threw the walnuts in the hot oil for about 15-20 seconds. They came out beautiful. I made my sauce without measuring, but tasted along the way since some complained about it being too honey flavored, or too mayo-ey. In the end, it was so spot on perfect, with a nice golden, crispy battered shrimp, delicious sauce, and yummy walnuts! I served over homemade fried rice (I used jasmine rice). This was super delicious...so much so that I created an account just to add a review, something I've NEVER done! Thanks for the recipe!! I would have posted a pic, but the shrimp was gone before I could!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
I accidentally bought almonds, but it was still really good. I don't love walnuts, so I'm sure it was a good mistake :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Sue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA
Living In: Long Beach, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Freya Hester

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lifes_1_journey
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2015
Absolutely delicious!! Loooooveeeed the batter - you could use it for any Asian recipe and probably even to make funnel cake. It crisped up nicely and didn't leave a mess of burnt crumbs in the frying pan as bread crumbs do. Definitely a keeper. Walnuts were a great addition. I found the honey used for the mayo mix a bit too strong tasting. Next time I will try using maple instead. I also wonder if the condensed milk was really necessary. Just a thought. Love this recipe as is and would be just as willing to play with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
Everything was good but the sauce. it didn't taste anything like you would expect for honey walnut shrimp and tastes more like cake batter. would use a different sauce but i like this method of frying shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
I'm not sure what happened but it just tasted like sweet mayonnaise to me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Wendysue46
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
This is totally awesome. I served it over coleslaw mix instead of rice. Didn't change a thing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2015
Wow! I've wanted this recipe for years and it certainly didn't disappoint - excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Freida Kirkland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2014
I've been looking for this recipe since 2001 !! I had it one time and couldn't remember the name of it or how it was made. So thankful to come across this great recipe. 2 thumbs up from even the pickiest eaters at the table. I only made a few changes. I candied the walnuts on the stove with a little butter, sugar, water and vanilla. I didn't have rice flour so I used a AP flour/cornstarch combo and it came out thin and crispy. I did add vanilla extract and sambal to the sauce because we like heat with our sweet. Glad I doubled the sauce or it may not have been enough. Amazing and can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Isthat Onsale

Displaying results 1-10 (of 324) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Szechwan Shrimp

See how to make a quick, healthy, spicy shrimp dinner.

Shrimp Fra Diavolo

See how to make simple sauteed shrimp with spicy tomato sauce.

How to Make Kung Pao Shrimp

Learn how to make this quick, spicy shrimp appetizer on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States