Honey Vanilla Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
i won an ice cream making competition with this recipe. very sweet, but delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
Great taste and consistancy but way too sweet! Would reduce the brown sugar by half next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
I wanted something different from the traditional vanilla ice cream and this fit the bill perfectly! I wasn't sure what to expect. But what I got, was an ice cream turned out so creamy and delicious, with a subtle honey taste while you indulge but the honey taste really kicks in afterwards. What a wonderful way to enjoy each bite of your ice cream! I knew this ice cream would turn out creamy when it said to strain the custard. This technique is usually used in a gelato recipe that I absolutely love! Always turns out smooth and extra creamy! I used vanilla extract since I didn't have vanilla beans on hand and there was a very small "bite" of "too much sweetness" in the ice cream, but nothing too noticeable. I think reducing the sugar just a smidgen would work fine. Otherwise, if you want an alternative to plain vanilla...This Is It!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne J.R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
When i bought my ice cream maker, this was the first recipe i went searching for, with dreams of the discontinued since the 80's Haagen Daz flavor of Honey vanilla that was my childhood fav. Next time i make it, however, I will use only 1/2-3/4cup brown sugar. I have a super-sweet tooth, and this was even too sweet for even me. I like milder vanillas, and i wanted the honey flavor to "pop" more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
I realllllyyy like this one. I have made this recipe many times. It makes a good amount for my family and I also use this as a base for a lot of different varieties. The most recent version that I made, was to follow the recipe exactly as stated but omitting the honey. I processed in my ice cream maker and at the very end, I added in about 1 C of crushed oreos. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn Horton

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newnan, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
Very tasty. It's a must to put it in the freezer for a while after it's made, though. It tastes better when it's firmer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
This ice cream is so good !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
Great ice cream. My hubby liked that it stayed on the soft side even after being in the freezer for 2 days! Smooth and creamy, a real treat :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maoneil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oregon City, Oregon, USA
Living In: Happy Valley, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
I thought this recipe was excellent. I made just a few changes, which was to cut back on the cream by one cup and replace it with whole milk (cut back on some of the fat.) Just before adding everything to the ice cream maker I whipped it with an electric mixer to "fluff" it up. I also cut back on the sugar by a little more than 1/4 cup but increased the honey by 2-3 tablespoons (I love honey.) The result was a very creamy - and honey tasting - ice cream. Topped with some granola it made a great treat. I will make this one again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Louisville, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
This ice cream was okay. Too sweet for our tastes. Would probably skip the honey if we were to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Vanilla Ice Cream V

This is pure, simple heaven: Vanilla ice cream with great flavor.

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States