Honey Vanilla Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
The flavor is great! Mine didn't really freeze well either as Melissa noted. It did solidify in the freezer and was not icy and hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2009
The ice cream came out tasting heavily of honey, but it was delicious! However, the recipe would never freeze properly in the ice cream maker, so once I put it in my freezer, it turned rock hard and icy. I don't recommend putting all of the hot milk into the egg mixture. I tried this twice and ended up with a foamy mess. Next time, I will only put in half of the milk, as most other recipes call for. I will definitely try this out again, as my friends all loved it, but I hope it freezes better in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
This ice cream is fabulous. Rich, creamy and delicious. But I think, this is more honey and brown sugar than vanilla taste ice cream (maybe because I used 1/2 vanilla bean). But overall this ice cream is very delicious, one of the most delicious I have eaten. You won`t be disapointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DiamondGirl amanecer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
The only reason I gave this four and not five stars was because I found that even after reducing the sugar to 3/4 of a cup, it was still too sweet - 1/2 cup should be plenty for next time. I used 3 cups of 1% milk and one cup of half and half (10% mf) and it was still lovely and rich. I used high-quality local honey - fallflowers from Arila Apiary in New Westminster, BC. It was a fantastic way to showcase the flavour of the honey, but it you are wanting a clean vanilla taste I would either leave it out or use the most mild honey you can find. Overall this is a fantastic base recipe that is easily tweaked for personal tastes. I am going to enjoy a cone right now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by punkybee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
i won an ice cream making competition with this recipe. very sweet, but delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
Great taste and consistancy but way too sweet! Would reduce the brown sugar by half next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
I wanted something different from the traditional vanilla ice cream and this fit the bill perfectly! I wasn't sure what to expect. But what I got, was an ice cream turned out so creamy and delicious, with a subtle honey taste while you indulge but the honey taste really kicks in afterwards. What a wonderful way to enjoy each bite of your ice cream! I knew this ice cream would turn out creamy when it said to strain the custard. This technique is usually used in a gelato recipe that I absolutely love! Always turns out smooth and extra creamy! I used vanilla extract since I didn't have vanilla beans on hand and there was a very small "bite" of "too much sweetness" in the ice cream, but nothing too noticeable. I think reducing the sugar just a smidgen would work fine. Otherwise, if you want an alternative to plain vanilla...This Is It!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne J.R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
When i bought my ice cream maker, this was the first recipe i went searching for, with dreams of the discontinued since the 80's Haagen Daz flavor of Honey vanilla that was my childhood fav. Next time i make it, however, I will use only 1/2-3/4cup brown sugar. I have a super-sweet tooth, and this was even too sweet for even me. I like milder vanillas, and i wanted the honey flavor to "pop" more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
I realllllyyy like this one. I have made this recipe many times. It makes a good amount for my family and I also use this as a base for a lot of different varieties. The most recent version that I made, was to follow the recipe exactly as stated but omitting the honey. I processed in my ice cream maker and at the very end, I added in about 1 C of crushed oreos. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn Horton

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newnan, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
Very tasty. It's a must to put it in the freezer for a while after it's made, though. It tastes better when it's firmer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Vanilla Ice Cream V

This is pure, simple heaven: Vanilla ice cream with great flavor.

Guinness Ice Cream

Stout beer-flavored ice cream with subtle smoky, chocolaty flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States