Honey Vanilla Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
This is probably the best vanilla ice cream I've ever had. The flavor is so pure because of the vanilla bean, and the honey and brown sugar flavors are not at all overpowering. Instead, they add a very distinctive note to the ice cream that is just absolutely delicious. The only changes I made for the recipe was to decrease the amount of brown sugar to 3/4 cup and I heated the milk and cream together instead of adding in the cream at the end. This will be my go-to vanilla ice cream recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Turned out a little too eggy tasting for me. Great texture, just didn't enjoy the flavor as much as I thought I would and no one else liked it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
The brown sugar flavor was a bit much, overwhelmed the vanilla part. Reminded me more of butter pecan flavor. Very creamy (added some half and half) and good, just not what I was expecting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
I used creamy fat free milk and half the sugar and it was fantastic! Really doesn't need so much sugar...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BlackRose

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
The texture was very nice. It was easy to make. The only issue I have is that the brown sugar brought too much sweetness to the plate. Not sure if I'd add less or if I'd just switch to white sugar (or do all honey?). BTW, I quadrupled the vanilla beans. You can never have too much vanilla. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Delish and very rich! Would make a great base for adding candied pecans too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
We loved this recipe! Will make again... and worth getting a vanilla bean for...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
Delicious recipe! I did decrease the sugar a bit out of personal preference. Next time I will also use the re-sizer since my ice cream maker only does a quart at a time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2012
I was hestitant to make this but it turned out amazing. Perfect blend of sweet and creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
I thought I already had the best recipe for vanilla ice cream, but I was wrong. This recipe is the very best, ever. I liked the deeper flavor notes of honey and brown sugar. It was a perfect complement to an excellent pecan pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Bailey, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Vanilla Ice Cream V

This is pure, simple heaven: Vanilla ice cream with great flavor.

Guinness Ice Cream

Stout beer-flavored ice cream with subtle smoky, chocolaty flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States