Honey Vanilla Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by ~*CountryGirlGourmet*~
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
My family loved this ice cream! It is very creamy and rich. It has a deeper flavor than your typical vanilla that leads to others guessing what flavor it is. I will be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~*CountryGirlGourmet*~

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raeford, North Carolina, USA
Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
Wanted to serve this tonight, I didn’t have enough time to chill the custard in the fridge for four hours, so I decided to use an ice bath. I placed the smaller custard bowl into a larger bowl filled with ice, and whisked regularly for about 25-30 minutes until the temp reached about 38 degrees F, then into the Cuisinart ice cream maker. We love Rainier cherries (sorry they’re available for such a short time), and I decided to add some to the custard. The tan color is not great for eye appeal, so next time, I think I’ll split the sugar into half white and half brown; maybe it’l be a little more white like you expect from vanilla ice cream. Thoroughly enjoyed, a real treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2014
Thank you, M. McCarthy! I've tried numerous vanilla ice cream recipes, and this is the best one yet by far: Creamy, smooth, silky and rich, with a bit of a complex flavor. Your description says it best: Buttery. I could not imagine trying to make it 'healthier' or lower-calorie by substituting anything for the cream, and I also use whole milk. This is so rich, we only eat about 1/4 to 1/3 cup at a time, sometimes with fresh blueberries. I thank you, and so do my boyfriend, family and friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2014
I have one word for this ice cream - AWESOME!! I thought it might be super sweet because of the honey and brown sugar, but it was just fabulous. This recipe is a KEEPER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2014
This is probably the best vanilla ice cream I've ever had. The flavor is so pure because of the vanilla bean, and the honey and brown sugar flavors are not at all overpowering. Instead, they add a very distinctive note to the ice cream that is just absolutely delicious. The only changes I made for the recipe was to decrease the amount of brown sugar to 3/4 cup and I heated the milk and cream together instead of adding in the cream at the end. This will be my go-to vanilla ice cream recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Turned out a little too eggy tasting for me. Great texture, just didn't enjoy the flavor as much as I thought I would and no one else liked it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
The brown sugar flavor was a bit much, overwhelmed the vanilla part. Reminded me more of butter pecan flavor. Very creamy (added some half and half) and good, just not what I was expecting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
I used creamy fat free milk and half the sugar and it was fantastic! Really doesn't need so much sugar...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BlackRose

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
The texture was very nice. It was easy to make. The only issue I have is that the brown sugar brought too much sweetness to the plate. Not sure if I'd add less or if I'd just switch to white sugar (or do all honey?). BTW, I quadrupled the vanilla beans. You can never have too much vanilla. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Delish and very rich! Would make a great base for adding candied pecans too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

Vanilla Ice Cream V

This is pure, simple heaven: Vanilla ice cream with great flavor.

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States