Honey Smoked Turkey Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
I have made this recipe several times and follow it exactly. It is totally awesome. We have made it for at least 25 different people and everyone who tries it loves it. No changes additions/deletions, etc. needed. Make it "as is".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
Nice recipe. I used peach wood to smoke, and it gave the meat a nice even blend with a subtle finish. I also prefer wildberry honey over clover honey when using fresh basil. they compliment each other well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
My husband and I LOVE this recipe! Last late Summer used this recipe exactly, then the 2nd & 3rd time changed out the mesquite w/applewood & cherrywood wood chips. Excellent all 3 ways, Double the amount of apple & cherry wood chips and increase cooking time by 45minutes..Oh Wow! Excellent in salads and Turkey melt sandwiches also!! :)) mmm good! :)) Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Dubuque, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bernard, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DJ
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
5 hours in the Bradley smoker with apple wood and this spice rub...mmm fall apart done but so tender, tasty and juicy! I did not use the honey by personal preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nanton, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
This was really good! My first time ever smoking a turkey. I used a breast (just because it was my first time) and basted the first time after 1 hr of cooking w/ 3oz of honey. After 30 min basted second time w/ 3oz of honey mixed w/ 1Tbs of butter and let it go for another 15 min. I also used apple chips. Wonderful will do again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
We used a turkey breast and reduced the total cooking time to 1 hour and 50 minutes. I cut the seasonings and oil in half and rubbed it on the turkey and let it stand for a few hours in the fridge before we cooked it. I wasn't sure that my husband would like the honey roasted on this, but he loved this turkey and it came out moist. It wasn't as tender as I am used to getting with a whole oven roasted bird, but it was very good. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Looks good but there is one thing I would recommend, soak the wood chips in water for at least 1 hour. This will cause more smoke to be produced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
If you brine your turkey skip the celery salt and go for celery seed instead... yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2011
This recipe is now a part of my holiday menu. Thanks a bunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ansel
Home Town: Riegelwood, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
This turkey is excellent!! I'm not a big turkey fan, I find it too dry (unless it's a Greenberg smoked turkey from Tyler, TX), but this turkey was so juicy and tender! The meat was falling off the bone. The flavoring was delicious, thought I might use more honey next time. It was much easier than I thought it would be, and we followed the directions exactly. We will definitely be doing this again. It was worth braving the cold wind to grill outside!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Smoked Turkey and Spring Pea Fettuccine

See how to make a rich and creamy, smoked turkey pasta sauce.

How to Deep Fry a Turkey

See a fast method to get crispy turkey skin and juicy meat.

How to Smoke a Turkey

Discover how home-smoking adds deep, rich, natural flavor to turkey.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States