Honey Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
Very Good as is and it is very easy to make compared to traditional Paneer. It is also very versatile. I have made it with lite coconut milk, cardomon, rose water and garnished with Pistaschio nuts to make it even more middle eastern/east Indian-like. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
This was excellent! Even my son who has never liked rice pudding ate it! It was not too sweet and a great way to use leftover rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
This was excellent and I'm not a rice lover. I did cut back on the honey. The honey, however, is what makes this dish perfect. I served it with fish. Delicious. From reading other reviews, yes it would be great for breakfast with any fruit. Thanks. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Roselle, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
This is really simple and easy to make. The kids and hubby ate this one up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
Totally delicious. Added cardamon and cloves which gave it a little more flavor depth. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
I actually made this as a breakfast rice this morning. Instead of raisins, I used dried blueberries and because I had used my lemons the day before, I used orange juice and orange zest. My kids and I liked this but I think that I would have liked this better had it been made with juice and the milk on top but that's just a personal preferance. I also thought this was a little too sweet, but my kids loved it. Very interesting take on rice pudding. NOTE: I got dried blueberries cheaply by buying them from the bulk bins. Much cheaper than buying them pre-packaged.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
This was a great way to use my left-over brown rice! I added dried cranberries instead of rasins, fat free milk and a bit of vanilla, but skipped the lemon (didn't have any around the house). I also put in two tsp dissolved corn starch for thickness. Turned out great for a light dinner, and a fabulous pre-workout breakfast. This pudding was creamy, sweet and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillith32

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kiev, Kiev (Special City), Ukraine
Living In: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
My wife & I enjoyed the quick and easy dish. We paired this w/ a chicken teriyaki that had a little heat to it. The combination of the sweet rice & the spiced chicken was great. We used lime juice instead of lemon but that was the only change. We'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
I thought it tasted fine, but my family didn't like it. It turned out too sweet and tasted almost like eating a spoon of pure honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcjj

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by moxie & mirth
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
Here's how I interpreted this recipe: with short-grain brown rice, fat-free milk, and light margarine instead of butter. I also have a kidlet here who loathes all raisins on earth, so I used dried cranberries instead, which IMO works great with lemon, so I think it was a safe substitution. I also mixed in 2 tsp of dissolved cornstarch, just my preference, because I like my rice puddings very thick. It came out perfectly. Lightly sweet, bright flavors, and so healthy for such a great treat! There is no way this recipe was bland. Also,the cinnamon and almonds sprinkled on top were perfect. I've made rice pudding the 'old way' a hundred times... it was never this good. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moxie & mirth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States