Honey Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by moxie & mirth
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
Here's how I interpreted this recipe: with short-grain brown rice, fat-free milk, and light margarine instead of butter. I also have a kidlet here who loathes all raisins on earth, so I used dried cranberries instead, which IMO works great with lemon, so I think it was a safe substitution. I also mixed in 2 tsp of dissolved cornstarch, just my preference, because I like my rice puddings very thick. It came out perfectly. Lightly sweet, bright flavors, and so healthy for such a great treat! There is no way this recipe was bland. Also,the cinnamon and almonds sprinkled on top were perfect. I've made rice pudding the 'old way' a hundred times... it was never this good. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moxie & mirth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2002
This was probably meant for dessert, but I ate it for breakfast! yum yum. 1/3 cup of honey was plenty of sweetness for me, and I may reduce it even more next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2002
so easy. so good. i will always make extra rice to save for this yummy pudding. i tried it with a can of sweetened condensed milk and a little rose water instead of the lemon and it was good that way too. thanks susan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rhea
Home Town: Menlo Park, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2003
i omitted the lemon to make it more like what i remember from years ago - and it was PERFECT. creamy and sweet, it was a perfect way to use leftover rice for dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2001
Wow! Really great recipe--it has already been added to my cook book. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
This was a great way to use my left-over brown rice! I added dried cranberries instead of rasins, fat free milk and a bit of vanilla, but skipped the lemon (didn't have any around the house). I also put in two tsp dissolved corn starch for thickness. Turned out great for a light dinner, and a fabulous pre-workout breakfast. This pudding was creamy, sweet and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillith32

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kiev, Kiev (Special City), Ukraine
Living In: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
This is really simple and easy to make. The kids and hubby ate this one up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
Totally delicious. Added cardamon and cloves which gave it a little more flavor depth. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
I thought it tasted fine, but my family didn't like it. It turned out too sweet and tasted almost like eating a spoon of pure honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcjj

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
This was very yummy. When I saw the recipe I thought it was going to be horribly sweet, but it was just right. Great served with Salmon. I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States