Honey Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
Very Good as is and it is very easy to make compared to traditional Paneer. It is also very versatile. I have made it with lite coconut milk, cardomon, rose water and garnished with Pistaschio nuts to make it even more middle eastern/east Indian-like. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
This was excellent! Even my son who has never liked rice pudding ate it! It was not too sweet and a great way to use leftover rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
This was excellent and I'm not a rice lover. I did cut back on the honey. The honey, however, is what makes this dish perfect. I served it with fish. Delicious. From reading other reviews, yes it would be great for breakfast with any fruit. Thanks. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Roselle, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
This is really simple and easy to make. The kids and hubby ate this one up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
Totally delicious. Added cardamon and cloves which gave it a little more flavor depth. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
I actually made this as a breakfast rice this morning. Instead of raisins, I used dried blueberries and because I had used my lemons the day before, I used orange juice and orange zest. My kids and I liked this but I think that I would have liked this better had it been made with juice and the milk on top but that's just a personal preferance. I also thought this was a little too sweet, but my kids loved it. Very interesting take on rice pudding. NOTE: I got dried blueberries cheaply by buying them from the bulk bins. Much cheaper than buying them pre-packaged.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
This was a great way to use my left-over brown rice! I added dried cranberries instead of rasins, fat free milk and a bit of vanilla, but skipped the lemon (didn't have any around the house). I also put in two tsp dissolved corn starch for thickness. Turned out great for a light dinner, and a fabulous pre-workout breakfast. This pudding was creamy, sweet and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillith32

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kiev, Kiev (Special City), Ukraine
Living In: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
My wife & I enjoyed the quick and easy dish. We paired this w/ a chicken teriyaki that had a little heat to it. The combination of the sweet rice & the spiced chicken was great. We used lime juice instead of lemon but that was the only change. We'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
I thought it tasted fine, but my family didn't like it. It turned out too sweet and tasted almost like eating a spoon of pure honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mcjj

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by moxie & mirth
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2010
Here's how I interpreted this recipe: with short-grain brown rice, fat-free milk, and light margarine instead of butter. I also have a kidlet here who loathes all raisins on earth, so I used dried cranberries instead, which IMO works great with lemon, so I think it was a safe substitution. I also mixed in 2 tsp of dissolved cornstarch, just my preference, because I like my rice puddings very thick. It came out perfectly. Lightly sweet, bright flavors, and so healthy for such a great treat! There is no way this recipe was bland. Also,the cinnamon and almonds sprinkled on top were perfect. I've made rice pudding the 'old way' a hundred times... it was never this good. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moxie & mirth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States